Minigolf: 14 Nations to vie for African Cup of Nations

Author: Maurice Quansah
Ghana's minigolf team

 After a successful appearance at the World Minigolf Cup Adventure Masters in Sweden last June, Ghana’s minigolf team will participate in the 2019 African Minigolf Cup of Nations (AMCON), which comes off in Accra later this month.

Organised by the African and the Ghana Minigolf Federations under the stewardship of Mr Talal Fattal, the first edition of AMCON takes place on September 28-29 at the 18-hole world championship course at the Ghana Minigolf Federation Club at Ridge, Accra.

The tournament will involve 14 African minigolf nations going head to head to win the first ever AMCON 2019 Cup next Sunday, September 29.

Other competing African nations are Gabon, Guinea, Togo, Mali, Chad, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Niger, Congo, DR Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Benin, Central African Republic that are reportedly preparing feverishly to take on the challenge from Team Ghana.

Under the guidance of Solomon Addai (coach) and Richard Amoah (captain), hosts Ghana have put together a strong team to claim the title.

Ghana’s pairings comprise, Enock Nyarko / Solomon Lokko, Kelvin Boateng / Bright Frimpong, John Trakasu / Fuad Abdallah, Ibrahim Usunaba / Emelda Bempong, Talal Fattal / Hala Fattal and the trio of Philip Selassie/Ago Newman/Solomon Addai.

Other African nations will also feature their best minigolf players such as the Somasse brothers (Benin) Ruben Minko, Olsen Mandama, Vyldie Babika (Gabon) Makafui Agbenoka (Togo) Sidibe Mohammed (Burkina Faso) and a strong team from Guinea who have all pledged to win the 2019 AMCON Cup.

According to the organisers, the competing teams will tee off on September 28 and 29 and play three rounds of 18 holes on the first day, two rounds of 18 holes on the second day before five-round scores of all teams are added for the top six nations to play in six final knockout rounds to determine the champions.

At stake will be cash prizes, trophies and medals for deserving winners, in addition to other prizes from NASCO Electroland, co-sponsors of the tournament.