Partey, Boakye axed from CAF shortlist

Author: Peter Sarbah
Thomas Partey
Thomas Partey

Ghana’s Thomas Partey has been axed out of the 10 shortlisted players in contention for the 2018 Africa Football of the Year award.

Although the Atletico Madrid midfielder made it to the final five of the BBC Africa Footballer of the Year list, his performance for club and country failed to convince the CAF Technical and Development Committee to vote for him.

According to the list release by the continent’s football governing body, the 25-year-old Ghanaian fell out of the 35 initial list that was released earlier last month.

Equally missing is Black Queen’s Portia Boakye who also played an influential role during the Women’s Africa Cup of Nation which was hosted in Ghana last month.

However, Mukarama Abdulai, the Black Maidens skipper and winner of the Adidas Golden boot award of the just-ended FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup, and Black Queens captain, Elizabeth Addo, still have the chance to grab the topmost individual award in women's football in Africa.

“The final phase will involve votes from CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, and Coaches & Captains of the 54 Member Associations,” CAF said in a statement.

Liverpool duo of Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah would be competing against other established Africa players such as Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon, Riyad Mahrez of Algeria, Alex Iwobi of Nigeria among others.

Below are the shortlisted players for CAF Awards 2018:

African Player of the Year (Men)

  1. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
  2. Andre Onana (Cameroun & Ajax)
  3. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
  4. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  5. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
  6. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  8. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
  9. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
  10. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

Women’s Player of the Year

  1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
  2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
  3. Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
  4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  5. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
  6. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
  7. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
  8. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  9. Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
  10. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroun & Aland United)
  11. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Youth Player of the Year

  1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)
  2. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
  3. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Men’s Coach of the Year

  1. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
  2. Herve Renard (Morocco)
  3. Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Women’s Coach of the Year

  1. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
  2. Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroun)
  3. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Men’s National Team of the Year

  1. Madagascar
  2. Mauritania
  3. Uganda

Women’s National Team of the Year

  1. Cameroun
  2. Nigeria
  3. South Africa