CAF expands Women's AFCON to 12 teams

Author: Beatrice Laryea
Ahmad Ahmad - CAF President

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has expanded the Women's African Cup of Nations (AFCON) from eight to 12 teams for the 2020 tournament to be staged from November 28 to December 12.

The biennial tournament has featured eight teams for the previous 11 editions.

The past format saw the top two teams in each group qualified for the semi-finals, with four teams crashing out of the competition.

However, CAF President Ahmad Ahmad said the decision to expand the teams to 12 was taken at Confederation's Executive Board meeting held on Wednesday in Egypt, where the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations is currently taking place.
"With @CAF_Online’s #exco, we took a great decision today: feminine’s #AFCON will now engage 12 teams! They only were 8 until now," president Ahmad Ahmad announced via his Twitter account.

Nigeria are the reigning champions after a 4-3 win on penalties during last year's final in Ghana

The Super Falcons are the most successful team in the history of the Women's AFCON with nine titles followed by Equatorial Guinea with two.

Following DR Congo's withdrawal last week as hosts of the 2020 edition, a new host and format of the new 12-team championship are yet to be announced.