Mr Patrice Motsepe - CAF President displaying the successful countries
Mr Patrice Motsepe - CAF President displaying the successful countries

Kenya, Uganda & Tanzania to host 2027 Africa Cup of Nations

Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania have officially been confirmed as the hosts of the 2027 TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations. 


The three East African countries beat off competition from Botswana, Egypt and Senegal in a vote at the CAF Executive Committee meeting held on Wednesday, September 27, 2023.

Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania's selection represent the first time nations from the Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations (CECAFA) will stage the tournament since Ethiopia in 1976.

This will be the 36th edition of the competition and will be the very first time it is hosted by three countries. 

"The three nations came together because our standards and requirements are very high, likening expectations for the organisation of tournaments to those held by European administrative body UEFA and the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol),” CAF President, Mr Patrice Motsepe said.

"Sometimes it requires hundreds of millions - sometimes billions - in infrastructure. It makes me proud when football brings countries together. Afcon 2027 is going to be a huge success," Mr Motsepe added.

Meanwhile, the next AFCON will take place in Cote d’Ivoire from January 13 to February 11, 2024. The draw will take place in Abidjan on October 12.

Connect With Us : 0242202447 | 0551484843 | 0266361755 | 059 199 7513 |

Like what you see?

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...