Final Princesses squad for U-20 Women's World Cup

BY: Rosalind K. Amoh
Names of final Princesses squad for U-20 Women's World Cup
Names of final Princesses squad for U-20 Women's World Cup

The final 21 players to represent Ghana at this year’s FIFA Under-20 Women’s World Cup (WWC) have been named.

While Grace Anima (Police Ladies), Afia Nyarkoh (Kumasi Soccer Academy) and Comfort Yeboah (Ampem Darkoa), failed to make the final cut, Sweden-born Sharon Esinam Sampson, now at Oakland University USA, and Susan Ama Duah who plays for Norway’s Avaldsnes IL are on the list.

The Princesses are among 16 teams who are in Costa Rica for the tournament slated for August 10 to August 28.

They face a difficult Group D, tagged the Group of Death, with three times champions USA (2002, 2008, 2012) and Japan (2018) as well as 2018 quarter-finalists, the Netherlands as the group members.

Making a fifth consecutive appearance at the WWC, the Princesses begin their campaign on August 11 against USA, play Japan on August 14 and the final group game against the Netherlands on August 17. This is the

In naming his final list, head coach Ben Fokuo has kept faith with almost the entire team used for the qualifying campaign with the likes of CAF Young Player and Best Inter-Club Player of 2021, Evelyn Badu, Mukarama Abdulai, the 2018 FIFA Under-17 WWC Golden Boot and Adidas Bronze Ball winner, among the players set to carry Ghana’s dream at the competition.

The team, made up of three goalkeepers, six defenders, seven defenders and five forwards arrived in Costa Rica from France last Tuesday.
To assist head coach Fokuo on the bench are Dora Zutah (assistant coach), Imoro Amadu (assistant coach) and Yakubu Nassam (goalkeeper’s coach)

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Cynthia Fiindib Konlan (Pearlpia Ladies FC), Grace Grace Banwaa Buoadu (Hasaacas Ladies FC), Farahana Ziblim (Prison Ladies FC)

Defenders: Abena Abena Anoma Opoku (Ampem Darko Ladies), Ayisha Ayisha Yakubu (Pearlpia Ladies), Rebecca Rebecca Atinga (Prison Ladies), Susan Ama Duah (Avaldsnes IL (Norway), Louisa Aniwaa (Police Ladies), and Anasthesia Achiaa (Ampem Darko Ladies)

Midfielders: Jacqueline Owusu (Emek Hefer, Israel), Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers FC), Evelyn Badu (Avaldsnes), Rahama Jafaru (Northern Ladies), Azumah Bugre (IFK Norrkoping FK (Sweden), Maa Nyame (Faith Ladies) and Cecilia Nyama ( Ridge City FC)

Forwards: Mukarama ABDULAI (Deportivo Alavés Gloriosas, Spain), Doris BOADUWAA (Hasaacas Ladies FC), Salamatu Abdulai (Northern Ladies FC), Ophelia Serwaa Amponsah (Ampem Darko) and Sharon Esinam Sampson (Oakland University (USA)