Parliament approves Oppong Nkrumah, Morrison and 4 others as ministers

BY: Musah Yahya Jafaru
Kojo Oppong Nkrumah
Kojo Oppong Nkrumah

Parliament has given approval for the appointment of Mr Kojo Oppong Nkrumah as Minister for Information.

Also approved to be appointed as Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection is Cynthia Morrison and four others as ministers and deputy ministers.

Members of Parliament from the Majority and Minority sides described the nominees as competent individuals who had the work experience and intelligence to deliver in their respective ministries.

The approval followed the presentation of the report of the Appointments Committee of Parliament (ACP), which recommended by consensus, the approval of the nominees.

The six nominees are Mr Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, MP for Ofoase Ayirebi (NPP) for the Ministry of Information, Cynthia Morrison for the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection and Mr Evans Opoku Bobie for the Brong Ahafo Region.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

The rest are Mrs Paulina Tangaba Abayage for the Upper East Region, Mr Martin Oti-Gyarko, Deputy Minister nominee for the Brong Ahafo Region, and Mr Samuel Nuertey Ayertey, deputy minister nominee for Eastern Region.

Cynthia Morrison

REGISTER: Graphic Business Stanbic Bank Breakfast Meeting

Constitutional arguments

There was a constitutional debate between the Majority and Minority sides regarding the nomination of Mr Oti-Gyarko as deputy minister for Brong Ahafo.

The Minority Leader and MP for Tamale South (NDC), Mr Haruna Iddrisu, said per Article 256 and Article 79, the President was supposed to consult the substantive regional minister before nominating Mr Oti-Gyarko.

However, he said, when Oti-Gyarko was being nominated there was no substantive minister for the Brong Ahafo Region as the substantive minister, Mr Asomah Cheremeh, had been moved to the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources.

Mr Iddrisu said he would go to the Supreme Court to seek an interpretation to the Article 256 and Article 79 on the requirement for the President to consult substantive ministers before nominating their respective deputy ministers.

The Member of Parliament (MP) for Tamale Central (NDC), Alhaji Inusah Fuseini, supported the position that the nomination of Mr Oti-Gyarko was unconstitutional because there was no consultation with the minister.

But the Majority Leader and MP for Suame (NPP), Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the MP for Abuakwa South (NPP), Mr Samuel Atta Akyea, and the Chairman of the Appointments Committee of Parliament, disagreed with that position and indicated that the President acted within the ambit of the Constitution.

Mr Atta Akyea said the use of the 'may' in respect to the consultation meant that the President had the discretion to consult the minister or not.

Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu said the President had consulted the substantive regional minister a day before he was reshuffled to the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources.

Giving his ruling, the Speaker of Parliament, Professor Aaron Michael Oquaye, said the use of "shall ' was always mandatory while the use of 'may" was permissible.

Therefore, he said, it was a matter of discretion for the President to consult a substantive minister before nominating his deputy but not mandatory.



Date: 23/04/2019 | Venue: Labadi Beach Hotel