MTN/FA Cup Awards - Mahatma for top prize?

BY: Arku Jasmine

Mahatma OtooAccra Hearts of Oak may have lost out at the semi-finals of last season’s MTN/FA Cup competition but their departed inspirational skipper, Mahatma Otoo, could emerge the best player of the competition when local football’s personalities assemble tonight to honour exceptional players who distinguished themselves in the last competition.

Today, organisers of the competition are expected to present awards in various categories to players and officials at the Banquet Hall of the State House.

Otoo, who played a key role in Hearts’ march to the semi-final in the competition, will have to shrug off challenge from the likes of Michael Helegbe of Kumasi Asante Kotoko, Joseph Gorden of Medeama SC and Frederick Acheampong of Rainbow FC.

All these players distinguished themselves to merit their nominations, but Otoo, who currently plies his trade with the Norwegian club Sogndal, had consistency as he led the Phobians to - on account of their own pedigree - an unlikely semi-finals berth.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

Also vying for the coach of the tournament award is Hearts trainer, David Duncan, who has been nominated alongside Evans Adotey who guided Medeama to the Cup, Amidaus’ Tony Lokko and Mas-Ud Didi Dramani of finalists Kumasi Asante Kotoko.

Ben Arthur of Amidaus, Joseph Gordon (Medeama), Frederick Acheampong (Rainbow F/C) and Emmanuel Laryea (Tudu Mighty Jets) will vie for the discovery of the tournament, while Omar Teni, Linear Addy and W.O. Amo will vie for the best match commissioner award.

Best defender of the tournament would be competed among Asante Kotoko’s defender Rashid Sumaila, Kwabena Edusei (Kotoko) and Emmanuel Ofori (Amidaus), while Maxwell Ashirfie (Nania FC) and Robert Ghansah (Sekondi XI Wise) share the top scorer award.

Other nominees are Joseph Lamptey, John Atikese, Samuel Gyasi and Otis Oppong who are all vying for referee of the tournament, with Ibrahim Adam, Ashitey Armah, Safo Adade and Shine Ayitey going for assistant referee of the tournament. Kumasi Asante Kotoko takes the top scoring club.

Special awards would be conferred on Michael Ikpoki, former CEO of MTN Ghana; Talal Fattal, CEO of Metro TV; Fadi Fatal, CEO of OMP; Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, Sky TV and Multi TV.

Preview: Peter Sarbah/The Mirror/Ghana