Police Ladies, Naija Ratel FC draw goalless:In opening of Flying Officers Cup

BY: Kwame Larweh
The Prison Ladies team

Ghana Women’s Premier League (GHWPL) side, Police Ladies held hosts, Naija FC Ratels played to a goalless drawn game in their opening match of the Flying Officers Cup tournament which opened in Abuja, Nigeria last Sunday.

There could not have been a better opening game to the competition than the FC Ratel versus Police Ladies as the two sides gave good accounts of themselves with performances comparable to any clash between Ghana and Nigeria in football.

However, at the end, neither side could break the back of the other, leaving the scoreline at a pulsating 0-0.
Game of two halves

It was a game of two halves as Naija Ratels dominated the first half but could not utilise the scoring chances created, as Police Ladies’ goalkeeper Nana Asantewaa made some dramatic saves to keep trouble at bay.

For instance, in the 24th minute Olamide Adugbe superbly worked the ball down the right, going past Jane Ayieyam, but her she was denied and just before the break,Adugbe’s effort was saved by Asantewaa.

When the second half resumed, the Ghanaians took charge and the pair of Deborah Afriyie and Cynthia Adjei set each other up to score but defenders Seun Anani and Paulina Ali who formed the pillar in the Ratels’ defence,  denied them.

Again on the 63rd minute,  Adjei fired a powerful shot, but goalkeeper Doris Ohia made a brilliant save to stop Ratels from conceding any goal.

At the end of proceedings, Police Ladies’ goalkeeper, Nana Asantewaa was adjudged the Most Valuable Player of the match and received a special award for that.
Police Ladies play their second game against Royal Queens also of Nigeria on Wednesday (Oct.13)

The Flying Officers Cup which is taking place from October 10 to  24,  is a pre-season tournament for women’s football in Nigeria, is also to honour a patron of Nigeria women’s football, the late Flying Officer Tolulope Arotile.

It is sponsored by Ratels Sports Development Foundation, the competition will run in a tournament format with the teams drawn into four groups of four teams.

At the end of the group stage, four teams will progress to the quarter finals, and the winners then advance to the semi-finals with the eventual winners of that round also progressing to the final

The  Area 10 Sports Complex in Edeh, Abuja, which has multiple playing fields, will host all the matches.
   Edo Queens and Bayelsa Queens are the previous winners of the tournament.

2021 group fixtures


Naija Ratels FC | Ghana Police Ladies FC | Royal Queens FC| Honey Badgers

Bayelsa Queens | FC Robo Queens | Osun Babes | Prince Kazeem Eletu Queens FC


Rivers Angels | Confluence Queens| Sunshine Queens| Oasis Ladies FC


Nasarawa Amazons FC | Edo Queens | Lakeside Queens FC| Dannaz Ladies.