Osei Wusu, Fomena MP elected 1st deputy, 2nd deputy Speakers of parliament

BY: Getrude Ankah Nyavi
Joe Osei Wusu and Amoako Andrew Asiamah
Joe Osei Wusu and Amoako Andrew Asiamah

The Member of Parliament for Bekwai Constituency in the Ashanti Region, Joe Osei Wusu has been elected as the 1st Deputy Speaker of the eighth Parliament.

While both the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and National Democratic Congress (NDC) by consensus picked the Member of Parliament-elect for the Fomena constituency, Amoako Andrew Asiamah as the 2nd Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament.

Mr Asiamah was disowned by his party, the NPP, and sacked from parliament for going independent in the run-up to the 2020 elections.

Notwithstanding, he won the elections as an independent candidate.

Meanwhile, the former Member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo, Alban Sumana Bagbin has been sworn-in as Speaker of Parliament of the Eighth Parliament of the Republic of Ghana.

The Chief Justice Kwasi Anin Yeboah conducted the swearing-in, taking Bagbin through the required oaths.

Read also:

I will serve all Ghanaians faithfully – Bagbin

Confusion as Tema West MP-elect snatches ballot papers in Speaker election

Soldiers storm Parliament’s Chamber to restore order

Standoff as Parliament readies to elect Speaker