Download Graphic News App

Install Graphic News App for the complete article


Wed, Aug

Latex Foam Masters Golf at Royal Club Aug 19

The 2016 Masters Golf Championship tees off at the Royal Golf Club in Kumasi next Saturday, August 19.

The two-day 36-hole tournament reserved for 2016 winners of competitions at the Club and those sanctioned by GGA, has Latex Foam as the title sponsor.

Non-qualifying members of the club and other sister clubs are also invited to play an 18-hole support event on Sunday, August 20.

The club’s partnership with Latex Foam for the Masters dates back to 2000. Latex Foam also sponsors the Club’s monthly medal competition that runs throughout the year.

At a press briefing ahead of the tournament, Prof. B.K. Baiden (Operations), on behalf of the management of the Royal Golf Club, Kumasi, outlined plans to make the Masters competition the biggest club event after the Asantehene Open.

Accordingly, the current management, in collaboration with Latex Foam, has rebranded the competition.

For the first time in the Masters’ history, there will be a flag-raising ceremony and a ceremonial teeing off by Mr George Karam of Latex Foam, together with Messrs Kwasi Attah-Antwi (Chairman) and Gabby Moughanie (Corporate).

The competition has also been renamed after the headline sponsor, while a new competition logo, flags and other related designs have been developed to give the tournament a professional touch befitting its status.

A supporting partner is expected to come on board as a sponsor of the Professionals who will take part in the event.

In addition, a golf clinic will be organised on both days of the competition to whip up interest in the sport.

The tournament is expected to bring together the best golfers at the club in both the men’s and ladies categories. Notable among them are the current (2017) Asantehene Open champions, Kwabena Poku and Contance Awuni.

Past Asantehene Open and Ghana Open champion, Maxwell Owusu-Bonsu, reigning Ghana Open Ladies champion, Felicity Okyei-Gyeabour, will also feature, alongside Grandmasters (winners of past Masters) Fayez Hage, Tony Yeboah, Francis Donkor-Baah, Oti Boateng, Frank Gyasi and S.B. Apeadu who have all confirmed their participation.

Other competition winners expected to compete for the Grandmaster title this year include Prof. B.K. Baiden, Prof. G.W.K Intsiful, Barima Osei-Kwadwo, Dr Ato Quansah, Kakraba Ampeh, K. Okyei-Gyeabour, Dr Sam Nixon and Paul Ahun.

Three promising young players who have broken through to full playing status and are billed to feature include Barima Kwaku Duah Osei-Asibey, Hanniel Kakraba and Prince Kwao.