President nominates more MMDCEs

BY: Samuel K. Obour

John MahamaPresident John Dramani Mahama has renominated nine people as Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives (MMDCEs) in the Ashanti and Central Regions.

They are Mr DeGraft Fokuo Asante, Akim South, Mr Samuel Appiah Kubi, Offinso North, Mr Edward Kusi, Ayarkwa - Sekyere South, Mr Adams Iddisa, Kwabre East and Mr Oppong Kyekyeku Kaakyire, - Afigya Kwabre.

The rest are Mr Peter Light Koomson,  Ajumako/Enyan/Essiam, Mr Sabina Appiah Kubi,  Assin South, Mr Henry Hayfron, Mfantsiman Municipal and Mr Ackah M. Yankey, Upper Denkyira West.

The President has also nominated Mr Samuel Adom Botchway for Asikuma/Odobeng/Brakwa.

A statement from the Office of the Minister for Local Government and Rural Development, Mr Akwasi Opong-Fosu, said the nominations were in accordance with Section 243(1) of the 1992 Constitution and Section 20(1) of the Local Government Act 1993, Act 462.