Ledzokuku: Dr Okoe Boye loses seat to NDC's Benjamin Ayiku Narteh
Ledzokuku: Dr Okoe Boye loses seat to NDC's Benjamin Ayiku Narteh

Ledzokuku: Dr Okoe Boye loses seat to NDC's Benjamin Ayiku Narteh

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) Parliamentary Candidate for the Ledzokuku Constituency, Benjamin Ayiku Narteh, has dethroned the incumbent, Dr Bernard Okoe Boye of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), by a margin of 1,866 votes.

After nearly 18 hours of counting and verification at the Teshie Police Station, Mr Narteh garnered 55,938 votes as compared to 54,072 votes by Dr Okoe Boye of the NPP.


Lord Adjetey Doku, of Ghana Union Movement (GUM) got 674 votes to finish third while the National Democratic Party’S (NDP} candidate, Lucky Mensah, finished with 137.

In a result declared by the Returning Officer of the Ledzokuku Constituency, Mr James Boateng, there were 110,821 valid ballots with 766 rejected ballots. Total votes cast was 111,587.

Mr Narteh’s win maintains the constituency’s one term trend in 24 years since the late Nii Adjei Boye Sekan won the seat consecutively in 1992 and 1996 respectively.

Dr Okoe Boye had been tipped to break the one-term jinx having proved to be one of the fastest-rising politicians in the country.

Meanwhile, in the Presidential race, John Dramani Mahama of the NDC recorded 59,096 votes while President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo got 50,530 to win the race.

In the third position, GUM’s Christian Kwabena Andrew had 747 votes, Ivor Kobina Greenstreet garnered 81 votes with Akua Donkor bagging 19.

Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated People’s Party (GCPP) got 11, Hassan Ayariga of APC and LPG’s Kofi Akpaloo both had 21 votes respectively.

The People’s National Convention’s (PNC) David Apasera got eight, Brigitte Dzogbenuku of PPP bagged 34 votes, Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings of NDP garnered 33 whiles Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker an independent Presidential Candidate had 35 votes.

In the Presidential contest, there was a total valid ballot of 110,626, a total rejected ballot of 1,311 and a total vote cast of 111,937.

The Ledzokuku Constituency becomes one of several seats reclaimed by the NDC in the Greater Accra following wins in Krowor and La Dadekotopon.

Connect With Us : 0242202447 | 0551484843 | 0266361755 | 059 199 7513 |

Like what you see?

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...