Joe Wise retains Bekwai seat
Joe Wise retains Bekwai seat

Joe Wise retains Bekwai seat

Despite stiff competition from his main contender in the parliamentary election for the Bekwai Constituency, Mr. Joseph Osei Owusu of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) managed to retain his seat as the Member of Parliament.

Mr. Osei Owusu, also called Joe Wise, polled 40,275 votes representing 60.9 per cent as against 22,221 votes by the independent candidate for the contest Lawyer Akwasi Amofa Agyemang also representing 33 per cent to place second in the election.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) candidate and the Peoples National Convention (PNC) also polled 2,877 and 102 votes out of the total 65,475 valid votes cast for the parliamentary election.

The Returning Officer for the Bekwai Municipality, Mr Stephen Bentil, therefore declared Mr Joseph Osei Owusu as the elected Member of Parliament for Bekwai.

Mr Joseph Osei Owusu, in his acceptance speech commended members of his party and his supporters for the massive support granted him despite the stiff opposition from the other contestants.

He therefore pledged to bring all members of the party together to support the government to help move the country forward.

Presidential results
On the Presidential election, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo polled 55,923 votes as against 8,510 votes for Mr John Dramani Mahama, 351 for the Ghana Union Movement’s Christian Kwabena Andrew, 29 for the Convention Peoples Party’s Ivor Greenstreet, 18 for the Ghana Freedom Party’s Madam Akua Donkor, 8 for the Great Consolidated Peoples Party’s Henry Lartey, 26 for the All People Congress’ Mahama Ayariga, 27 for the LPG’s Kofi Akpaloo, 9 for the Peoples National Convention’s David Apasera, 4 for the Progressive Peoples Party Brigitte Dzogbenuku and 115 for the independent candidate, Asiedu Walker.

Connect With Us : 0242202447 | 0551484843 | 0266361755 | 059 199 7513 |