Incumbent Gt Accra NPP MPs retained

With the exception of Justice Joe Appiah and Rosemond Comfort Abrah, sitting Members of Parliament (MP) for Ablekuma North and Weija Gbawe respectively who lost their bid to contest their seats in the 2016 elections, all incumbent New Patriotic Party (NPP) MPs in the Greater Accra Region who contested last Saturday’s primaries secured their candidature.

Mr Appiah garnered 184 votes and lost to Nana Akua Owusu Afriyeh who gathered 315 votes. With 309 votes, Tina Naa Ayeley Mensah beat Ms Abrah, who had 175.
In the Greater Accra Region, out of the 34 constituencies, four, namely Sege, Ada, Amasaman and Ningo Prampram, went unopposed.

Constituencies such as Tema West, Tema Central, Tema East and Ayawaso Central, Okaikoi South, Klottey Korle Oboom-Domeabra, Ablekuma West, and Krowor could not hold their primaries.
At Dome Kwabenya, Abdul Aziz reports that the incumbent MP, Ms Adwoa Safo, whipped her main challenger, Mr Isaac Amofa, by 587 to 249 in what she termed as the easiest elections she had ever participated in.


In Madina, Alhaji Boniface Siddique beat five contestants to emerge the NPP parliamentary candidate for the area.He polled 426 votes with Francis Ayenu getting 77; Jamal Mustapha,110; Samuel Douglas Quansah 1; Eric Yeboah Nartey,122; and Alexander Nyarko Anim, 12.

In Ayawaso East, Peter Mireku snatched the seat with 173 votes; leaving Muniru Mohammed with 26; Mohammed Baba Alhassan,157, and Zak Rahnan, 20 while in Ayawaso West Wuogon, Emmanuel Kyremanten Agyarko polled 588 votes as against 234 by his only challenger, Efia Acheapomaa Appiah.

The Odododiodio Constituency was taken by Nii Lante Bannerman with 356 votes; Reginald Nii Bii Bonte followed closely with 333 and Ahmed Nii Annan Tackie, a former MP for the area, trailed them with 105 votes.
The Ablekuma Central was contested by three aspirants with Ebenezer Nartey emerging the winner with 507 votes; Paul Lamptey,177, and Salem Ango,130.

In Ledzekuku, Dr Oko Boye had 455 votes to beat Stephen Stanley Quaye who polled 316 votes.
Salomey Appiah reports from Anyaa. Sowutuom that the incumbent MP, Sarah Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey, won with 341 voters, while her other contestants, Eric Kwaku Nti had 70, and Dickson Adomako Kissi 302.

In Okaikoi North, Fuseni Issah won with 284, while his opponents, Ken Kuranchie, had 141, Seth Agyei Baah, 103, and Francisca Boateng, 12. In Kpone Katamanso, Solomon Appiah won with 278 votes, Pearl Akua Agyemang had 176, and James Mensah 49. In Ashaiman, Yakubu Labaran Bari had 546, Thomas Adongo followed with 111 and Mohammed Muaaz had 22.

Dela Russel Ocloo reports from Ningo Prampram that a 37- year-old freight forwarder, Sylvester Tetteh, was overwhelmingly endorsed by the 425 delegates.
The electoral officer for the area, Mr Charles Botcwey, acclaimed him, being the sole aspirant to have contested the primaries.

Kpone Katamanso

In Kpone Katamanso where three people contested the race, Mr Solomon Tettey Appiah beat his strongest contender, Ms Pearl Akua Agyeman, with 278 votes while Ms Agyeman polled 178 with a third contender, Mr James Mensah, managing 49 votes. The primaries attracted 601 delegates.

The newly elected Adenta Constituency parliamentary candidate, Mr Yaw Buabeng Asamoah, urged unity among all delegates and supporters of the party in the constituency to enable them to unseat the ruling party’s MP for Adenta, Charles Benoni Okine reports.

His call comes after his two other challengers in the primaries on Saturday, Mr Rashid Bawa, a former Minister of State and Ambassador in the Kufuor administration, and Mr Morgan Newman, for inexplicable reasons, could not join him on the podium shortly after the results were announced by the Electoral Commission (EC) official.

Mr Bawa, at the time of the announcement, was not present but Mr Newman, who was seen seated flanked by some women from his campaign team, left when he was called to concede defeat and pledge his support for the winner.

Mr Newman, who was heavily tipped by many to be the man to carry the day, polled 179 votes and when the announcement to that effect was made, his supporters gave up hope, knowing the number of votes yet to be counted.

Mr Bawa, whose votes came up to 198, made it obvious that Mr Asamoah was bound to win and it was therefore no surprise to the teeming supporters and delegates that Mr Asamoah polled 238 to carry the day.

Mr Asamoah, a practicing lawyer, who was an aide to Alhaji Aliu Mahama, Vice-President in the Kufuor administration, however, paid glowing tribute to the two contestants and called on them to bury their differences and work with him for victory next year.