3 Teaching Hospitals get new boards

BY: Doreen Andoh
Mr. Kwaku Agyeman-Manu (head of table), Minister of Health, swearing in members of the Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital Board. Picture: GABRIEL AHIABOR
Mr. Kwaku Agyeman-Manu (head of table), Minister of Health, swearing in members of the Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital Board. Picture: GABRIEL AHIABOR

The Minister of Health, Mr. Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, has inaugurated the re-constituted boards of three public hospitals.

They are the Tamale, the Komfo Anokye and the Cape Coast Teaching hospitals.

The members were appointed by the President, in consultation with the Council of State and other stakeholders, as required by law.

The members of the respective boards took the oaths of Secrecy and Office, administered by the minister.

Mr. Agyeman-Manu charged the board members to strive and turn the health facilities into places of excellence to facilitate effective health delivery outcomes.

He said although the boards should have been in place eight months ago, the process of reconstituting them was interrupted by the national COVID-19 response effort.

“Thank you for responding to our call, in spite of the short notice. That indicates how ready you were waiting to be called to come to serve your country,” he added.


The Tamale Teaching Hospital (TTH) Board, chaired by Mr. Mahmoud Hamid Nassir-Deen, has Dr. Kareem Mumuni, Dr. Divine Ndonbi Banyubala, Dr. Lețicia Adelaide Appiah and Dr. Ahmed Abdallah Mashud as members.

The rest are Dr. Charles Agyemang Fordjour, Madam Miriam Coffie, Prof. Gideon Kofi Helegbe, Ms. Gifty Mary Wuffele, Matthew Yaw Kyeremeh and Alhaji Abdul-Rahman Al-Hassan.

Komfo Anokye.

The Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital (KATH) Board is chaired by Ambassador Nana Effah-Apenteng.

The members are Dr. Ohéneba Danso, Mr. Maxwell Opoku-Agyeman, Dr. Caroline Reindorf Amissah, Dr. William Kwadwo Antwi and Mr. Charles Dontoh.

The rest are Mrs. Hannah Okyere-Boateng, Prof. Daniel Ansong, Rev. Sr Prof. Frantes Emily Owusu-Ansah, Dr. Kofi Osei-Afoakwa and Dr. Kwaku Oteng.

Cape Coast

The Cape Coast Teaching Hospital Board is chaired by Nana Ehunabobrim Prah Agyensaim.

The members are Mr. Ofosu Asamoah, Dr. Kwabena Opoku-Adusei, Mrs. Alberta Amissah Rockson, Mrs. Delese Afia Amoakoa Mimi Darko, Mrs. Philomina Adjoa Nyarkoa Woolley and Dr. Akwasi Anyanful.

The rest are Dr. Mrs. Nancy Innocentia Ebu Enyan, Mr. Caxton Oduro-Donkor, Mr. Robert Kingsford Kutin (Jnr) and Dr. Eric K. Ngyedu.


Mr. Agyeman-Manu charged the Board of the TTH to help address persisting administrative and management challenges that had affected the functionality of the hospital.

“We went through four years of challenges; there, however, seems to be some semblance of calm and level of efficiency at the facility now,” he said.

The minister said in the next six months, the Ashanti Region would have adequate health facilities to ease the pressure at KATH.

“In the next six months or so, the Ashanti Region, including Kumasi, would have more health facilities that will take away the pressure at KATH,” he said.

Mr. Agyeman-Manu further said a couple of hospitals, such as the Wa and the Sunyani Regional hospitals, would be converted to teaching hospitals.

“We want to see fewer, if possible, zero labour agitation, improvement in conditions of service and efficient management of internally generated funds to ensure customer satisfaction,” he said.

Writer’s email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.