Victory is with us - Muhammadu Buhari

BY: Mabel Faith Tannor
library photos
library photos

 Nigerian president Muhammadu Buhari has asked members of his campaign task force to work hard inspite of the assurance of victory in the fourth coming elections.

The 76 year old former military ruler from the All Progressive Congress APC party is one of 73 Candidates on the ballot for the 2019 February 16 poll.

His main challenger is expected to be former vice president Atiku Abubakar from the People’s Democratic Party which Buhari diffited in 2015.

Buhari told his team that there is no doubt, victory will be there’s and therefore edge them to work as hard as they can to maximize the skill in extent of glory.

Buhari served as the 11th vice-president of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007 under the presidency of Olusegun Obasanjo. He is a member of People's Democratic Party. 

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

main challenger is expected to be former vice president Atiku AbubakarIn 1998 he was elected Governor of Adamawa State. While still Governor-Elect, he was selected by then presidential candidate Olusegun Obasanjo as his running mate.

The duo went on to win elections in February 1999, and Abubakar was sworn-in as Nigeria's second democratically elected vice president on 29 May 1999.

Abubakar's second term as Vice President was marked by a stormy relationship with President Obasanjo.

His bid to succeed Obasanjo did not receive the latter's support, and it took a judgment of the Supreme Court to allow Abubakar contest after he was initially disqualified by the Independent National Electoral Commission on the grounds that he had been indicted for financial misconduct by an investigating panel set up at Obasanjo's behest.

The Supreme Court ordered the electoral commission to restore Abubakar's name onto the presidential ballot. Abubakar ran on the platform of the Action Congress, having quit the PDP on account of his issues with President Obasanjo. Abubakar lost the election, placing third after Umaru Yar'Adua and Muhammadu Buhari of the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).