Akufo-Addo appoints Ministers, Deputies for new regions

BY: Graphic.com.gh
President Akufo-Addo
President Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Akufo-Addo has nominated regional ministers and deputy regional ministers for the six recently created regions.

A statement issued by government, signed by the Director of Communications at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin, also announced changes in the appointments of four other regional ministries.

The statement said President Akufo-Addo expressed hope that Parliament would expedite the vetting of the Regional Ministers-designate and Regional deputy Ministers-designate to enable them assume their respective offices promptly, in order to begin and accelerate the establishment of the new regions."

The nominations are as follows: 

Oti Region

Kwasi Owusu Yeboah, Ghana’s Ambassador to the Republic of Togo 

Maxwell Blagodzi, former Deputy Minister for Volta Region
Bono East Region Kofi Amoakohene, Member of Parliament for Atebubu/Amantin  Martin Oti Gyarko, Member of Parliament for Techiman North and former Deputy Minister for Brong Ahafo Region
Ahafo Region Evans Opoku Bobie, Member of Parliament for Asunafo North and former Minister for Brong Ahafo Region Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere, Member of Parliament for Tano South
Savannah Region Salifu Adam Braimah, Member of Parliament for Salaga South Samuel Yeyu Tika, former parliamentary candidate for Mankarigu Daboya 
North East Region Solomon Namliit Boar, Member of Parliament for Bunkpurugu and former Deputy Minister for Northern Region Tahiru Tia Ahmed, an educationist from Gambaga
Western North Region Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu, Member of Parliament for Bibiani/Anhwiaso/Bekwai  and former Deputy Minister for Health Alex Tetteh, Member of Parliament for Sefwi Akontombra

Changes in four other regional ministerial appointments (Changes denoted by bold designations)

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

Region Minister Deputy Minister
Northern Region Salifu Saeed  John Benam, former Member of Parliament for Zabzugu (Deputy Minister-Designate)
Western Region Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, Member of Parliament for Takoradi constituency and former Deputy Minister for Aviation (Minister-designate) Eugenia Gifty Kusi
Volta Region  Dr. Archibald Letsa 

Mr. Johnson Avuletey (Deputy Minister-designate)

Bono Region Mrs. Evelyn Ama Kumi-Richardson, currently Municipal Chief Executive for Sunyani (Minister-designate) Siaka Stevens, Member of Parliament for Jaman North constituency (Deputy Minister-Designate)

The statement was silent on the position of the current Western Regional Minister, Dr Kwaku Afriyie.