Citi FM's Bernard Avle is Journalist of the Year 2017

BY: Enoch Darfah Frimpong
Bernard Koku Avle
Bernard Koku Avle

Bernard Koku Avle, a Broadcast Journalist with a passion for telling the African story has been adjudged as the Ghana Journalist of the Year 2017.

Bernard Avle hosts one of the popular radio shows in Ghana, "The Citi Breakfast Show," on Accra based Citi FM.

He is also the Director of News Programming at Citi FM.

The 37-year old was presented with the 2017 PAV Journalist of the Year award at a ceremony organised by the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) at Kempinski Hotel in Accra on Saturday night.

He takes over from Peace FM's Kwami Sefa Kayi who won the award for the Year 2016.

This year’s awards event was on the theme: “State of Investigative journalism: Boundaries of privacy and borders of the public interest.”

Bernard Avle (right) receiving his certificate from Prof Henrietta Mensah Bonsu, the chairperson for the awards ceremony.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

As a talk show host, Bernard Avle is one of the faces of a new kind of broadcaster who combines a strong grasp of social, economic and political issues, with a lively and fun presenting style.

His background in Economics from the University of Ghana and an MBA from the Warwick University provides a context that strengthens his grasp of the business and economic issues, while his role as Director of News Programming at Citi FM, provides an important reference point as a manager and team leader, directly overseeing the work of over 30 broadcast and online journalists.

Bernard is an ALIWA Fellow, an Edward R Murrow Fellow of Journalism and a Chevening Scholar.

His ALIWA project, iJourno Africa involves unearthing and training African journalists in using data journalism tools to effectively tell African stories.

Alice Aryitey from GhOne TV was adjudged the Most Promising Journalist of the Year 2017.

2017 GJA Award Winners 

Journalist of the Year 2017 - Bernard Koku Avle (Citi FM)

Most Promising Journalist of the Year - Alice Aryitey (GhOne TV)

Award winners and their media houses

Graphic (15 awards)

News Reporting (Print) - Severious Kale-Dery and Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)
Domestic Tourism (Print) - Charles Andoh (The Mirror)
Features (Print) - Rebecca Quaicoe-Duho (Daily Graphic)
Agriculture (Print) - Ama Amankwaah Baafi (Graphic Business)
Best Health Report (Print) - Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic)
Oil and Gas - Moses Dotse Aklorbortu (Graphic Online)
Business Finance and Economic Reporting - Suleiman Mustapha (Graphic Business)
Mining (Print) - Gabriel Ahiabor (Daily Graphic)
Best Development Journalism - Timothy Ngnenbe (Daily Graphic)
Best Transport and Road Safety - Severious Kale-Dery and Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)
Environment (Print) - Seth J. Bokpe (Daily Graphic)
Disability (Print) - Emmanuel Adu-Gyamerah (Daily Graphic)
Anti-Galamsey - Timothy Ngnenbe (Daily Graphic)
Best Newspaper - Daily Graphic
Best Layout & Designed Newspaper - Daily Graphic

Multimedia (7 awards)
Features (Radio) - Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy FM) 
Human Rights (Child Protection - TV) - Ernest Manu (Joy Mews) 
Best Photojournalist - David Andoh (Myjoyonline)
Best Report in Health (TV) - Seth Kwame Boateng (Joy News) 
Agriculture (Electronic) - Joseph Opoku Gakpo (Joy News)
Best Rural (Electronic) - Joojo Cobinnah (Joy News)
Anti Galamsey - Latif Iddrisu 

Despite Group (6 awards)

Sports Journalist (Radio) - Dan Kwaku Yeboah (Peace FM)
Best Radio Station - Peace FM
Best TV station - UTV
Best Health Report (Radio) - Nana Yaa Konadu (Peace FM) 
Domestic Tourism (TV) - UTV
Democracy and Peace Building - UTV

GNA (4 awards)
Best Crime and Court Reporting- Joyce Danso (GNA)
Best Digital Journalism - GNA 
Small and Medium Enterprises - Christian Akorli (GNA)
Sanitation and Hygiene - Caesar Abagali (GNA)

TV3 (4 awards)
Investigative Reporting - Stanley Nii Blewu (TV3)
News Reporting (Electronic) - Peter Quao Adator (TV3)
Education - Peter Quao Adator (TV3)
Environment (Electronic) - Portia Gabor (TV3)

GBC (3 awards)

Features (TV) - Peggy Ama Donkor (GTV)
Human Rights (Child Protection- Radio) - Rebecca Ekpe (GBC Radio)
Anti Galamsey - Joyce Gyekye

Daily Guide (3 awards)
Best HIV AIDS Reporter - Linda Tenya Ayettey (Daily Guide) 
Best Female Journalist - Jamila Akweley Okertchiri (Daily Guide)
Best Cartoonist - Akosua (Daily Guide)

EIB (3 awards)
Most Promising Journalist of the Year - Alice Aryitey (GhOne TV)
Best in Disability Reporting (Electronic) - Alice Aryitey (GhOne TV)
Best Development Journalism (Electronic) - Ridwan Karim Dini-Osman (GhOne)

Omni Media - Citinewsroom (3 awards)
Journalist of the Year 2017 - Bernard Koku Avle (Citi FM)
Best Morning Show (Radio) - Citi FM Breakfast Show
Anti Galamsey - Kojo Agyemang 

Atinka (2 awards)
Best Sports Reporter (TV) - Saddick Adams (Atinka TV)
Best Programme (TV - Akan) - Di Asa (Atinka TV)

Maritime - Grace Nana Esi Boateng (Oman FM)
Human Rights (Print) - Samuel Adadi Akapule (Ghanaian Times)
Best Morning Show (TV) - Good Morning Ghana (Metro TV)
Best Rural Reporting (Print) - David Kodjo-Asinesi
Mining (Electronic) - Kwasi Anum
Best WASH [Water, Sanitation and Hygience] - Justice Adoboe (Xinhua News Agency)

Anti-Galamsey - Kojo Agyemang, Latif Iddrisu, Godwin Arthur, Stephen Kwaku Fosu, Timothy Ngnenbe, Joyce Gyekye

Jamila Akweley Okertchiri of the Daily Guide newspaper was adjudged the Best Female Journalist for 2017. 

Media houses

Apart from the journalists, some media houses were also awarded for showing excellence in their service delivery.

They are the GCGL, Metro TV, GTV, Citi FM, Hello FM, Obonu, GNA, Moonlight FM and Kekeli Radio.

The rest are Zaa FM, Radio Wa and the West End Radio.

Best Rural Radio Station

Ashanti- Hello FM

Greater Accra - Obonu 

Brong Ahafo - Moonlight Radio 

Eastern - Agoo FM

Western - West End Radio

Central - Radio Central 

Upper West - Radio Wa

Northern - Zaa FM

Volta - Kekeli

Upper East -

Related: Graphic tops 2017 GJA Awards with 15 honours

The awardees from the Graphic Communications Group Limited (GCGL) are Ms Rebecca Quaicoe Duho, Ms Ama Amankwaah Baafi, Mr Moses Dotse Aklorbortu, Mr Emmanuel Adu Gyamerah, Mr Timothy Ngnenbe, Mr Seth J. Bokpe and Mr Suleiman Mustapha.

The rest are Mr Charles Andoh, Mr Severious Kale-Dery, Mr Gabriel Ahiabor and Ms Doreen Hammond.

36 journalists

This year, 36 journalists out of 548 applications received by the Awards Committee were presented with awards in the various categories..

Honorary awards

The GJA also conferred honorary awards on some personalities who have contributed immensely to the growth of the media industry.

They are Mrs Barbara Gaisie, A.C. Ohene, Madam Faustina Nelson, Dr Osei Kwame Despite, Dr Ernest Ofori Sarpong, Dr Samuel Amo Tobbin, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom, Mr Kwasi Twum and Commissioner of Police (COP), Dr George A. Dampare.

Writer's email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.