Kwadwo Asamoah was Ghana’s best for 2012

BY: Isaac Yeboah

Kwadwo Asamoah, Best Player for 2012Midfielder Kwadwo Asamoah was Saturday night named Ghana’s Sports Personality of the Year 2012 at the 38th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) awards.

Useful links Ghana Politics | Ghana Celebrity News | News in Ghana

The Juventus player was also named Footballer of the Year.

Priscilla Okyere, captain of the Black Maidens (Ghana’s U-17 women’s team) emerged Female Player of the Year while the team itself won Team of the Year.

Hearts of Oak’s Mahatma Otoo was crowned Premiership Player of the Year while there were posthumous honours for the duo of late President Prof. J.E.A. Mills and late Vice President Aliu Mahama for their contributions to the development of sports in the country.

Also at the Awards Night on Saturday night held at the State Banquet Hall, Asante Kotoko coach Mas-Ud Dramani picked the Coach of the Year award for his exploits with the Maidens which saw the team win bronze in Azerbaijan.

Tema Youth and Ghana U-20 midfielder Moses Odjier won the Promising Star of the Year with Berekum Chelsea named Club of the Year.

Paralympic Anita Fordjour; Triple Jumper John Ampomah; Sprinter Janet Amponsah; Table Tennis: Derek Abrefa and Cynthia Kwabi; Hockey: Elikem Akaba  and Juanita Korwu were all honoured as best in their respective fields.

Berekum Chelsea’s Founder, Emmanuel Kyeremeh; the Tesano Dolphins swimming club; paracyclist Alem Mumuni; Mr. S.B. Donkor for supporting women football and mobile telephony operator MTN all received honours in the special category awards.

Full list of awards

Sports Personality of the Year - Kwadwo Asamoah

Footballer of the Year - Kwadwo Asamoah

Premiership Player of the Year - Mahatma Otoo

National Team of the Year - Black Maidens

Female Footballer of the Year - Priscilla Okyere

Coach of the Year - Mas-Ud Didi Dramani

Dedication and Valour - Adjoa Bayor

Club of the Year - Berekum Chelsea

Promising Star of the Year – Moses Odjier

Discovery of the Year - Abeiku Jackson

Male Athlete of the Year - John Ampomah

Female Athlete of the Year – Janet Amponsah

Male Table Tennis Player of the Year - Derek Abrefa

Female Table Tennis Player of the Year - Cynthia Kwabi

Amateur Boxer of the Year - Duke Micah

Weightlifter of the Year - Alberta Amponsah

Male Golfer of the Year - Amos Korblah

Female Golfer of the Year – Beatrice Vetsch-Bempong

Male Hockey Player of the Year - Elikem Akaba

Female Hockey Player of the Year - Juanita Korwu

Special Meritorious Awards

Emmanuel Kyeremeh - Chairman of Berekum Chelsea, Tesano Dolphins Club, MTN Ghana, Prince Kofi Amoabeng, Anita Fordjour, S.B. Donkor, Promasidor Company Limited, Die Hard Supporters Union, late former President John Evans Atta Mills and late former Vice President Alhaji Aliu Mahama.

Ghana News Headlines

For today's latest Ghana news, visit Graphic Online headlines page Ghana news headlines.