Agyarko's replacement: Lydia Alhassan, Kufuor and four others approved for NPP primary

Agyarko's replacement: Lydia Alhassan, Kufuor and four others approved for NPP primary

The ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) has given approval for one of the wives of the late Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko, Lydia Alhassan, Rev Edward Agyekum Kufuor and four others to compete for a candidate to replace the late Member of Parliament for the Ayawaso West Wuogon constituency in Accra.

The six, who were on the only ones who filed their nomination forms to contest the vacant seat in the primary, slated for Saturday, December 29, 2018 were all vetted and approved on Monday December 24.

They are Rev Edward Agyekum Kufour, a son of former President John Agyekum Kufuor, Lydia Alhassan Agyarko, a wife of the late MP, Madam Victoria Esinam Ansah Offei, Assembly Member for Legon Electoral Area, Samuel Amankwah, a former constituency youth organizer, Yaa Aboagye and Ato Williams.

"For us, a lot of people showed interest because this is an elite constituency and a constituency that we’ve won over the years," Mr John Boabu, General Secretary of the NPP said in a radio interview with Accra based Joy FM on Monday.

"Considering the interest and the dynamics on the ground, we decided to open nominations for prospective candidates to apply if they wish to do so and we’ve done that and seven people picked forms and six of them filed by close of filing on Sunday," he added.

"Today six of them have been vetted and they’ve even gone ahead to ballot. What it means is that six people have applied and are qualified to be our candidate. On the 29th of December, that is this Saturday, we will hold our extraordinary delegates conference to elect our candidate for the by-election.

Emmanuel Kyeremanten Agyarko died on November 21, 2018.

Latex Foam Valentines Day Promo

Related: MP Kyeremateng Agyarko dead

He will be buried on January 26, 2019, at Odumase-Krobo in the Eastern Region, his hometown.

The Electoral Commission has set Thursday, January 31, 2019, as the date for the Ayawaso West-Wuogon constituency by-election.

The date was agreed upon at an emergency meeting of the Inter-Party Advisory Committee (IPAC) on Monday, December 24.

Meanwhile, the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has set December 28 for its primary to select a candidate ahead of the by-election.

Three persons successfully filed their nomination to contest on the ticket of the NDC.

The three are Mr. Ekwow Acquah, Mr. Delali Kwasi Brempong and Madam Donna Selassie Agbo.

Connect With Us : 0242202447 | 0551484843 | 0266361755 | 059 199 7513 |