9-member organising committee for Kofi Annan's funeral

BY: graphic.com.gh
The late Kofi Annan
The late Kofi Annan

President Akufo-Addo has constituted a nine-member committee to see to the organisation of a State Funeral for the former Secretary General of the United Nations (UN), Mr Kofi Annan.

The committee, chaired by Ambassador Annan A. Cato, a Diplomat and a former Secretary to the Cabinet, included Mrs Cecilia Abena Dapaah, Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources; Mr Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Minister-designate for Information; Ambassador Mercy Debrah Karikari, Secretary to the Cabinet; Ambassador Ahmed Hassan, Director of State Protocol; Mr Samuel Kumah, Chief of Protocol at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Brigadier General Charles Awity, Director General, Personnel Administration of the Ghana Armed Forces; Ambassador Patrick Hayford, Retired UN official and Mr Kojo Annan, son of the late Mr Kofi Annan.

Read Also: Kofi Annan’s family in shock over his death

A statement issued by the Director of Communications at the Presidency, Mr Eugene Arhin said the Director of Protocol at the Office of the Vice President, Nana Mensah will serve as Secretary to the organising Committee.

The State Funeral of Mr Kofi Annan will be held on Thursday, September 13, 2018.

Mr Annan is said to have died Saturday morning, August 18, 2018 in Switzerland, where he was receiving medical care.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

He was 80 year.