2nd batch of ministerial nominees; Ursula, Akoto Osei, Joe Ghartey named

BY: Jasmine Arku
Mrs Ursula Owusu, Minister designate for Communications

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has released a second batch of ministerial nominees to help him steer the affairs of government.

The president on Tuesday announced his first batch of nominees at the Flagstaff House in Accra.

The new list of 12 nominees was announced on the floor of Parliament Wednesday by the Speaker, Professor Mike Oquaye.

This brings to 25 the total number of appointments made by the President so far.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

With the 25 so far, the President has created six new portfolios in the area of Monitoring and Evaluation, Regional Reorganization and Development, Railway Development and the Senior Minister and National Security portfolios. Water Resources has been taken out of the Ministry of Works and Housing and has been realigned as the Ministry of Sanitation and Water Resources.

Below is the new list of ministerial nominees

Samuel Atta Akyea                      -    Works and Housing

Joseph Kofi Adda                        -    Sanitation and Water Resources

Ursula Owusu Ekuful                   -     Communications

Kwesi Amoako Atta                      -     Roads and Highways

Joe Ghartey                                -     Railway Development

Otiko Afisa Djaba                         -     Gender, Children and Social Protection

Ignatius Bafuor Awuah                 -     Employment and Labour Relations

Kweku Ofori Asiamah                   -     Transport

John Peter Amewu                       -     Lands and Natural Resources

Prof Kwabena Frimpong-Boateng    -     Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation

Anthony Akoto Osei                      -     Monitoring and Evaluation

Dan Kweku Botwe                    -     Regional Reorganization and Development