Download Graphic News App

Install Graphic News App for the complete article


Thu, Sep

Initiate visionary policies to propel GETFund - Minister tells Board of Trustees

A 17-member Board of Trustees of the Ghana Education Trust Fund (GETFund) has been inaugurated with a call on the members to initiate visionary policies that will propel the mission of the institution.

The Minister of Education, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, who made the call after inaugurating the Board, explained that “This will result in quality performance that would raise the reputation of your institution.

Pledge to support

He pledged that the ministry would carry out a number of actions to support GETFund perform its functions in a transparent and a more efficient manner to achieve its purpose.

 “Key among these actions will be the review of the legal and regulatory instruments of Act, 2000 (Act 581) to respond to evolving issues.

“We will also play our facilitative role to ensure that funds expected for GETFund are released in a timely manner and for the intended purpose,” Dr Prempeh stated.

He said the Project Unit in charge of infrastructure would be integrated into the Fund Procurement and Management Unit (FPMU) of the ministry, stressing that the GETFund must have a well-resourced Monitoring and Evaluation Unit to ensure efficient and effective utilisation of funds.

Foreign scholarships

Dr Prempeh hinted that the provision of foreign scholarships by GETFund to build the capacity for all levels of education would be reviewed.

He said the ministry would also work with the board of trustees to improve disbursement of funds required for various programmes as approved by Parliament in the Board of Trustees’ formula.

Members of the Board of Trustees

The Board, with Professor Dominic Fobih as its Chairman and Mr Richard Boadu as Administrator of the Fund, has the following members: Mr Emmanuel Kofi Nti, representing the Ghana Revenue Authority, Professor Abdulai Salifu Asare from the universities/polytechnics, Professor Mohammed Salifu representing the National Council for Tertiary Education and Mr Enoch H. Cobbinah from the Ministry of Education.

The others are Mr Charles A. Atuahene from the Association of Ghana Industries, Mr Emmanuel Addo from the Ghana Employers Association, Rev. Dr K. O. Frimpong representing the religious bodies, Mr Paul Apanga from the Ghana National Association of Teachers, Mr Daniel Asiedu from the Association of Bankers.

The rest are Madam Eva Essabi Mends from the Ministry of Finance, Mr Michael Nsowa representing the Ghana Education Service, a representative each from the National Union of Ghana Students and the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection, Ms Aretha Abena Abrafi Duku representing insurers and a representative from the Finance House.

Prof. Fobih

On behalf of the members, Prof. Fobih expressed gratitude to the President for the trust reposed in them and pledged their commitment to work and uplift the institution.

He said they would be guided by the Act of the fund and work to justify their inclusion as members of the trustees.


Writer’s Email: [email protected]