52 individuals, companies shortlisted for Ghana Shippers Awards

BY: Nii Martey M. Botchway
52 individuals, companies shortlisted for Ghana Shippers Awards

A total of 52 individuals and companies have been shortlisted for the 4th edition of the Ghana Shippers Awards.

The ceremony which would be held on Friday, October 1, 2021, at the Kempiski Gold Coast Hotel in Accra would recognize achievements from local and international companies involved in the shipping sector in Ghana. It would also reward those that have played a defining role in moving the shipping industry forward

Themed "The Digital Maritime and Shipping Industry: Impact on our Economy," this year's awards which would be chaired by the Minister of Transport, Mr Kweku Ofori Asiamah aims at identifying projects and individual achievements that have enabled shippers to set themselves apart from their competitors to produce clear and compelling value as well as other relevant results.


Some of the award categories that promise to be the toast of the night are the Award for Transparency, Freight Forwarder of the Year, Shipping Line of the Year, shipping Agent of the Year, CEO of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year, and Reporter of the Year.


Mr Latif Abubakar, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the organizers of the awards, Globe Productions said the benchmarks for shortlisted nominees' performance were based on some key performance indicators (KPIs) in the standards of excellence, including information technology for couriers, safety and competitive pricing.

Mr Abubakar explained that the shortlisted nominees were weighted above the scores and survey done by the Ghana Shippers Authority who are major partners and handling the technical aspects of the awards.

"The Awards is a benchmark of excellence for carrier performance despite the recurring challenge," he noted.

Ghana Shippers Awards

The Ghana Shippers Awards provides a platform to recognize individuals and companies that play a significant role in the growth and development of the industry while recognising the key functions within the industry that promote growth and sustainability.

The awards which cut across road transportation, ocean carriers, air transportation, freight forwarding, shipping agents, express services, courier agencies, government agencies, insurance and financial institutions aim to recognise distinction in the field, and also to promote the interests of the industry - nationally and internationally.

The 4th edition which is under the auspices of the Ministry of Transport is in partnership with the Ghana Shippers Authority and supported by the Ghana Ports and Harbours Authority, Ghana Maritime Authority and the Graphic Communications Group Limited.

Shortlisted Nominees

The shortlisted companies include Blessing Basket Ject Ghana, Dasoa Company Limited (Ltd), Nestlé Ghana Ltd, Kasapreko Company Ltd, Blue Skies Ltd, Kingdom Exim Group of Companies, DHL Ghana Ltd, Sevenlog Limited, Air Ghana Ltd, Bos Engineering Ghana, Kingdom Technologies, Ghana Post, Delata Ghana Ltd, Volta Star Textiles Ltd, SIC Insurance Plc, Star Assurance, APM Terminals Ghana Ltd, Falcon Shipping Services Ltd, GCB Bank Ltd, Ecobank Ghana Plc, Aviance Ghana Ltd, and Swissport Ghana Ltd.

They rest are Sealand Shipping and Inland Services Ltd, Trans Global Logisitcs Ltd, Comexas Ghana Ltd, B5 Plus Ltd, Golden Exotics Ltd, Supermaritime Ghana Ltd, SGS Ghana Ltd, Sea and Shore Ltd, Basileia Shipping & Logistics, Falcon Shipping Services Ltd, Amaris Terminal Ltd, Meridian Port Services Ltd, Ghana Link Network Services Ltd, LMI Logistics, Overseas Commerce Ghana Ltd, Benmarine Offshore Services, Tullow Ghana Ltd, Maersk Ghana, Axiss Shipping Company Ltd, McDan Group, Fuel Trade, Nungua Warehouse Group of Companies, Global Cargo and Commodities, Ghana Link Network Services Ltd, JK Ahiadome Transport & Company Ltd, McDan Shipping Company Ltd.
Individual nominees

Individual nominees are Mr Daniel Mckorley- McDan Group, Mr Alex Atakorah - Amaris Terminal Limited, Marwan Traboulsi – Air Ghana, Christophe Monmarche - Sevenlog Ltd, Chris Chinebuah – Fueltrade Ltd, J.K. Ahiadome – J. K Ahiadome Transport & Company Limited, James Gnanaraj Rajamani - Kingdom Exim Group of Companies, Collins Otoo Okley – Nungua Warehouse Group of Companies, Bernard Lomotey Agbloe – BenMarine Offshore Services Ltd, Nick Danso Adjei – Ghana Link Network Services Ltd, Derick Boateng - Axiss Shipping Company Limited, and Mr Chris Goodsir - Swissport Ghana Limited.

The Graphic Communications Group Limited's Dela Russel Ocloo, Oman FM's Grace Nana Esi Boateng, and Osei Owusu Amanakwaah Amankwaah - Business & Financial Times (B&Ft) have been shortlisted for the Reporter of the year award.