The Queens for the job

BY: Rosalind K. Amoh
The provisional squad  from which the final list was chose
The provisional squad from which the final list was chose

From a provisional list of 28, Coach Bashir Hayford has named the final 21 players to represent Ghana as the Black Queens begin their quest for their first Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) as Ghana also hosts the tournament for the first time.

In settling on the final 21 member squad, Coach Hayford, has chosen versatile, well-known and experienced players,some of whom will be playing their third Women’s AFCON tournament.

Unfortunately though, the squad is without enterprising forwards, Sandra Owusu-Ansah and Priscilla Hagan, both of whom missed out through injuries.

From the choice of goalkeepers, Coach Hayford is convinced that the security forces officers are the best to be entrusted with the job.

Asantewaa and Dumehasi are police officers with the Police Ladies team while Mantey, is an Immigration Officer and the first choice keeper of the Immigrations Ladies team.

The three have been consistent for the Queens and were the keepers in charge when they won the 2015 All Africa Games in Congo Brazzaville and have Women’s AFCON experience from the 2014 and 2016 tournaments.

Also, Coach Hayford’s decision to have more offensive midfielders is the clearest intention of having a very strong attacking option.

The line up of midfielders and forwards is quite impressive as these ladies have built a steady profile of creating or scoring goals from their days with the 2008 Under-17 Women’s World Cup team that made their debut at the Trinidad and Tobago and have risen through the ranks, playing for the Princesses and have now fully matured into the Queens.

Meet the Black Queens!

Goalkeepers: Patricia Mantey, Fafali Dumahesi, Nana Ama Asantewaa.

Defenders: Linda Eshun, Janet Egyir, Cynthia Adobea, Ellen Coleman, Faustina Ampah, Philicity Asuako, Gladys Amfobea.

Midfielders: Elizabeth Addo, Sherifatu Sumaila, Grace Asantewaa, Priscilla Okyere, Juliet Acheampong, Mary Essiful.

Forwards: Samira Suleman, Portia Boakye, Jane Ayieyam, Alice Kusi, Lily Niber-Lawrence.