MTN FA Cup Awards: Adams, Cobinna chase MVP award

BY: Bernard Neequaye
MTN FA Cup Awards: Adams, Cobinna chase MVP award
MTN FA Cup Awards: Adams, Cobinna chase MVP award

Local icons, Saddick Adams of Kumasi Asante Kotoko and Hearts of Oak’s Winful Cobinna will be in the spotlight tonight as they are locked up in a hot race for the Most Valuable Player award at the MTN FA Cup Awards slated for the plush M Plaza Hotel in Accra.

The two top performers are contesting for the flagship award alongside Amidaus Professionals' Isaac Amoah, who picked three best player awards before his club exited in the quarter-finals.

As Kurt Okraku’s FA Cup Committee (FACC) prepares to deliver yet another impressive show in the seventh edition of the MTN FA Cup Awards cum the launch of the 2017/18 competition, the fired coaches of Kotoko and Hearts - Steve Polack and Frank Nuttall - will keenly monitor proceedings from the fringes, hoping to be decorated with the best coach award, albeit in absentia.

However, between the two, Polack seems to be in pole position for the big prize after steering the Porcupine Warriors to a historic 3-1 triumph in the Tamale final on October 29.

Saddick Adams will be seeking for a double on the night as he battles young promising striker, Raphael Ocloo, of Okyeman Planners for the Top Scorer of the Year award, with five goals each to their credit.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

Interestingly, the tall lanky Ocloo will also be eyeing another award in the Most Promising Player category where he faces stiff competition from David Abagna of Wa All Stars and Medeama's Rashid Nortey, while Richard Akrofi (Hearts), Ahmed Adams (Kotoko) and Ibrahim Yaro (Medeama) vie for the Best Defender prize.

Charles Bulu, J.A. Amenya and Awal Mohammed will contest for the Best Referee award, while the Assistant Referee of the Year division will witness Shine Aryeetey, Kennedy Sarfo Adade and Samuel Asiedu competing for honours.

Messrs A.A. Lawal, J.F. Mensah and Alhaji S.D. Yahaya are in line for the Match Commissioner of the Year award; Hearts, Kotoko and True Democracy are nominees for the Best Team Supporters category; while Kotoko versus Hearts, Kotoko versus Medeama and Hearts versus Young Hearts contest for the Game of the Year honours.

The other awards for the night are Goal of the Season, Fair Play, Most Promising Officials - Mohammed Issahaku and Daniel Akoto - as well as special awards for the CEO of MTN, M Plaza Hotel, Nii Amo Cudjoe, Baba Mallam Nuhu, Evans Adjei (coach of Danbort), Western Region FA and Ashanti Region FA.

The much-awaited ceremony will be graced by the GFA President, Kwesi Nyantakyi, and other dignitaries, including the NSA Chief Executive, Robert Sarfo Mensah.