Ghana Football Awards: Partey named Footballer of the Year

BY: Kweku Zurek
Thomas Partey
Thomas Partey's parents joined him on stage to receive his award.

Atletico Madrid and Black Stars midfielder Thomas Teye Partey has been named the Footballer of the Year at the maiden edition of the F360 Ghana Football Awards in Accra.

Partey was also named the Foreign-based Footballer of the Year at the awards which recognised the exploits of Ghanaian footballers in the period under review (the 2017-2018 season) on Sunday night.

Partey, 25, made 52 appearances and scored five goals for Atletico as they bounced back from a UEFA Champions League group stage exit to win the UEFA Europa League.

Thomas (as Partey is known at Atletico) distinguished himself predominantly as a right fullback and in midfield for Diego Simeone's side as they also finished second behind Barcelona in the Spanish La Liga and exited the Copa del Rey at the quarter-final stage.

For the senior national team - the Black Stars - Partey tied down a spot as a regular in the team with some scintillating displays from midfield, netting his first career hat-trick in a 5-1 win over Congo in a 2018 World Cup qualifier in September 5, 2017.

He also captained the Black Stars in recent friendlies against Japan and Iceland in the absence of skipper Asamoah Gyan.

The first awardee of the night was Aduana Stars and Black Stars B goalie Joseph Addo who was named the Goalkeeper of the Year, who was recognized for his role in Ghana's 2017 WAFU Zone B Cup triumph and league title success with Aduana in the Ghana Premier League. He edged goalies Razak Abalora and Richard Ofori to the award.

Addo's club Aduana also emerged the Team of the Year and 20-year-old Majeed Ashimeru of Red Bull Salzburg pipped Princella Adubea (Dampen Darkoa Ladies) and David Abagna (Wa All Sars) to the Future Star of the Year award reserved for players aged 20 years or below.

Star forward for Ampem Darkoa Ladies, the serial National Women's League - Princella Adubea was named the Women's Footballer of the Year while a superb strike by Joseph Mensah emerged Goal of the Year.

Below  is the complete list of the award winners;

1. Goalkeeper of the Year

Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United & Black Stars)

Razak Abalora (WAFA)

Joseph Addo (Aduana Stars & Black Stars B) - WINNER

2. Team of the Year


Aduana Stars - WINNER

 Ampem Darkoa ladies

3. Future Star Award

Majeed Ashimeru (WAFA & Black Stars B) - WINNER

David Abagna Sandan (Wa All Stars)

Princella Adubea (Black Princesses & Ampem Darkoa Ladies)

4. Foreign-based Player of the Year

Jordan Ayew (Swansea)

Albert Adomah (Aston Villa)

Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid) - WINNER

5. Goal of the Year - Joseph Mensah

6. Women's Footballer of the Year - Princella Adubea- WINNER

7. Living Legend Award - Anthony Baffoe - WINNER

8. Home-Based Player of the Year

Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak) - WINNER

Stephen Sarfo (Berekum Chelsea)

Daniel Darkwah (Aduana Stars)

9. Coach of the Year

Yussif Abubakar (Aduana Stars) - WINNER

Klaus Rasmussen (WAFA)

Mercy Tagoe (Black Queens Coach)

10. Thumbs Up Award - Asamoah Gyan - (WINNER)

11. Ghanaian Footballer of the Year

Jordan Ayew (Swansea)

Albert Adomah (Aston Villa)

Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid) - WINNER

Thomas Abbey (Ismaily)

Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United)