Ghana’s CAF Women’s Champions

BY: Graphic Sports

League representatives, Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies will know the group they will compete in and the teams they would play against when the draw for the competition is conducted on Wednesday, September 29, 2021.

The draw will map the road of the eight clubs participating in the inaugural tournament scheduled from November 5 to 19, 2021.

The eight teams represent the respective zones that make up the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Though there are five zones, there are eight teams, with the West Africa Zone B, being allotted two slots for being the sub region with the African Women’s Cup of Nations champions – Nigeria as well as the sub regional champions.

Also, North Africa also has two slots – the hosts from Egypt and the sub regional champions, Morocco.

Per the format of the draw, the teams will be divided into two groups of four teams each.

Tournament format

As is usually the case, the teams will engage in a round-robin competition at the group stages and at the end, the top two from each group will advance to the semi-finals and the eventual winners progressing to the final

The qualified teams

Qualified teams:


AS Mande (Mali): They won the first two editions of Mali women’s First Division league (2017, 2021) and the National Cup four times (2012, 2014, 2015, 2016).


Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana): Winner of the Regional Qualifiers, the club was founded in 1996 . They are four-time winners of Ghanaian League (2013, 2014, 2015, 2021) and won the 2021 National Cup.

Rivers Angels (Nigeria): They finished as runners-up of the Regional Qualifiers. Formed in 1986, they have won seven Nigeria Women’s League titles (1994, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2021) and eight National Cups (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)

*As the zone holder of the previous Women’s AFCON 2018, and in accordance to the competition Regulations as home of current champions of Women’s AFCON, WAFU B will have they have two representatives:


Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa): The club are the three-time winners of the South African Women's Championship. They won their regional qualification recently in Durban, South Africa.


Vihiga Queens FC (Kenya): The Kenyan side has enjoyed dominance in their domestic competition winning Kenya Women's Premier League (FKF WPL) in 2017, 2018 and 2019.


ASFAR FC (Morocco): They are eight-time Morocco League champions (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) and seven-time winners of the National Cup known as ‘Throne Cup’ (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Wadi Degla FC (Egypt): They gained automatic qualification as hosts of the tournament. The Egyptian club won its 12th domestic title (Women’s Premier League) this year.

*They will have two representatives with Egypt being the second club as hosts.


Malabo King FC (Equatorial Guinea): Title holder of Equatorial Guinea’s Primera Division Femenina (Women’s National League) and TNO Cup, they won UNIFFAC’s regional qualifiers.