TAMA Presiding Member re-elected

BY: Samuel K. Obour

The incumbent Presiding Member (PM) of the Tamale Metropolitan Assembly (TAMA), Alhaji Abubakar Mohammed, has secured two-thirds of the votes cast at the second ordinary meeting of the assembly.

He polled 48 votes as against three that voted against him.

There was only one rejected ballot. Initially, there were three contestants vying for the position, including the incumbent, but at the close of nominations, the remaining two contestants, Messrs Adam Takoro and Issahaku Nashiru, stepped down.

On March 27, 2013, when the assembly met for the first time to elect a PM, none of the three contestants, including the incumbent, secured two-thirds majority of the votes cast.

Alhaji Mohammed, who is also the assembly member for the Fushegu Electoral Area, pledged to help unite the assembly members as a way of promoting peace and development of the Tamale Metropolis.

Earlier, the Northern Regional minister, Mr Bede Ziedeng, addressed the house and entreated its members to unite for the common purpose of uplifting the living conditions of the residents.

He observed that the failure to get a substantive PM had financial implications.

The Deputy Northern Regional Minister, Alhaji A. B. A. Fuseini, urged the members to put the interest of the assembly above any parochial interests.