President Akufo-Addo explains Ghana's peculiar lockdown

BY: Isaac Yeboah

Ghana chose for herself a unique 'lockdown' suited to her circumstances as the country announces stricter measures to contain and halt the spread of the Coronavirus pandemic across her cities.

President Akufo-Addo who announced the imposition of the Ghana-suitable measures, says the country was not going to copy blindly, what other countries were doing as there was no common solution to the problem.

The measures affected communities in Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi, which the President said have been identified by the Ghana Health Service as the “hotspots” of the infections.

He explained thus; "In doing this, we cannot afford to copy blindly, and do all the things some other well-developed countries are doing. There is no one-size-fits-all approach to this pandemic. We have a unique situation in our country, and we must take it into account in dealing with the disease, whilst meeting all the six (6) key WHO guidelines on the most effective ways of combating the pandemic. Even though it may be said that the number of our infections is still, relatively, low, if we act now purposefully, we have a chance of preventing an escalation of our numbers."

Read also: Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi under partial lockdown

How President Akufo-Addo summarised Ghana's Coronavirus cases

See list of affected areas

Greater Accra Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts
1 Accra Metropolis  Kumasi Metropolis
2 Tema Metropolis Asokwa Municipality
3 Tema West Municipality Suame Municipality
4 Ledzokuku Municipality Old Tafo Municipality
5 Krowor Municipality Oforikrom Municipality
6 Adentan Municipality Asokore Mampong Municipality
7 Ashiaman Municipality Kwadaso Municipality
8 La-Nkwantanang-Madina Municipality Atwima Nwabiagya Municipality
9 La-Dade-Kotopon Municipality Kwabre East Municipality
10 Okaikwei North Municipality Ejisu Municipality
11 Ablekuma North Municipality Afigya-Kwabre South District
12 Ablekuma West Municipality Bosomtwi District
13 Ablekuma Central Municipality Atwima Kwanwoma District
14 Ayawaso East Municipality Atwima Nwabiagya North District
15 Ayawaso North Municipality
16 Ayawaso West Municipality
17 Ayawaso Central Municipality
18 Ga West Municipality
19 Ga North Municipality
20 Ga Central Municipality
21 Ga South Municipality
22 Ga East Municipality
23 Korle-Klottey Municipality
24 Weija/Gbawe Municipality
25 Kpone Katamanso Municipality
26 Awutu Senya East Municipality