website statisticsvisitor activity monitoring

Nzema East fails to elect PM

BY: Enoch Darfah Frimpong

The Nzema East Municipal Assembly failed to elect a new presiding member for the assembly after two days of a keenly contested election conducted by the  Electoral Commission at Axim.

The incumbent Presiding Member of the assembly, Mr Emmanuel Yankson Kwofie, and Mr John K.T. Abugri, who filed their nominations to contest the polls could not obtain two-thirds of the votes required for the position after three rounds of balloting and were disqualified to contest further.

Mr Charles K. N. Arthur and Mr Assuah Benie filed fresh  nominations to contest the position but Benie stepped down for Arthur to contest unopposed.

However, Mr Arthur also  failed to obtain two-thirds of the votes needed after three rounds  of voting.

The assembly has therefore fixed May 16 for another round of balloting to elect a new presiding member for the assembly to fill the vacant position.

In a brief speech, the Municipal Chief Executive, Rev. James Ackah Cobbinah, appealed to the assembly members not place any obstacle in the way of new elections.

Present at the function were the Municipal Co-ordinating Director, Mr Samuel Kwakye and heads of various departments.