NPP to boycott Kumbungu by-election

BY: Samuel K. Obour

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) will not contest theNPP Chairman, Jake Otanka Obetsebi Lamptey Kumbungu bye-election which will take place on April 30.

According to its Chairman, Mr Jake Otanka Obetsbei Lamptey, the NPP was only being consistent not to participate in any bye-elections whilst they had a case pending at the Supreme Court.

He told the Daily Graphic “we want to know the outcome of the election petition at the Supreme Court before we can participate in any future bye-elections conducted by the Electoral Commission in the country”.

 The Electoral Commission (EC) has set Tuesday, April 30, 2013, to hold the bye-election in the Kumbungu Constituency in the Northern Region, in accordance with Article 112(5) of the Constitution as amended by section 3 of Act 527.

 The seat became vacant after the  Member of Parliament for the Constituency, Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni, abdicated it following his appointment as the Secretary-General of African, Caribbean and Pacific States.

 A statement issued by the EC and signed by its Chairman, Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, said the Commission would take nominations for the bye-election on Tuesday, 16th and Wednesday 17th April 2013, at the district office of the Commission at the Kumbungu District Assembly.
But the NPP said it was boycotting the bye-election.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

The NPP recently boycotted the Akatsi and Buem bye- elections which were held on February 5 and 26 respectively.
However on the other side of the political divide, the ruling National Democratic Congress elected a former  Member of Parliament for Kumbungu, Alhaji Imoro Yakubu Kakpagu, to contest the bye-election in the Kumbungu Constituency in the Northern Region on their ticket.

He polled 170 votes to beat his closest contender, Dr Jacob Yakubu Mahama, who secured 84 votes at the party's primary held in Kumbungu.

The remaining candidates were Abukari Osman Mohammed, who polled 14 votes, Hamza Adam,12 votes, and Abdullah Baba Ibrahim, 9 votes.
Alhaji Kakpagu served as the MP for Kumbungu for two terms . He lost his bid for a third term when he was defeated by Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni in a hotly and acrimonious primary in the run up to the 2012 elections.

Apparently elated about his chance for another term in Parliament, Alhaji Kakpagu, said he was well prepared to return to Parliament to represent the people of his area and advocate the people's share of the national cake.

He said his election should mark the end of factionalism in the party in the constituency, and pledged to work  hand-in-hand with the other candidates to retain the seat for the NDC.

The Northern Regional Chairman for the NDC, Alhaji Sofo Azorka, who was among other top party executive and functionaries who witnessed the primary, commended the delegates and their supporters for comporting themselves throughout the campaign and the primary.

He said he had no doubt that the NDC would win the bye-elections because Kumbungu remained a stronghold of the party.

Story: Abdul Aziz/Daily Graphic