Dr Daannaa and 10 others approved by Parliament

BY: Enoch Darfah Frimpong

Parliament on Wednesday approved 11 more persons appointed by President John Drama Mahama to head various ministries in his government.

The Majority side of the House unanimously approved the nominations after considering the report of the Appointments Committee of Parliament which vetted them. The Minority side abstained from the approval.

The newly approved ministers are: Nii Armah Ashitey, Employment Ministry; Mrs Elizabeth Ofosu Adjare, Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts Ministry; Mr. Nyon Bilijo, Fisheries and Aquaculture Development and Nii Laryea Afotey-Agbo, Minister-designate for the Greater Accra Region.

The others are: Paul Evans Aidoo, Minister-designate for Western Region; Hani Sherry Ayitey, Health Ministry; Elvis Afriyie Ankrah, Youth and Sports Ministry and Mr. Kwesi Ahwoi, Interior Ministry.

The rest include Dr. Seidu Daannaa, Minister-designate for Chieftaincy and Traditional Affairs; Mr Mark Woyongo, Minister-designate for Defense, and Mr. Eric Opoku, Minister-designate for the Brong Ahafo Region.

Meanwhile, the Appointments Committee has begun vetting other ministerial nominees.

They include: Mr. Samuel Sarpong (Ashanti Region), Mr. E.K.T. Addo (Central Region), Mr. Bede Ziedeng (Upper West Region), and Mr. Alhassan Azong (Minister at the Presidency).

Five other persons to serve at the presidency would be vetted on Thursday February 14.

They are: Dr Mustapha Ahmed, Alhaji Abdul Rashid Hassan Pelpuo, Mr. Fifi Kwetey, Alhaji Lumina Mohammed Muniru and Mrs Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe Ghansah.

source: Myjoyonline