Botchway, Koomson confirmed DCEs

BY: Samuel K. Obour

President John Dramani Mahama’s nominees as district chief executives for the Asikuma Odoben Brakwa and the Ajumako Enyan Essiam district assemblies in the Central Region have finally been confirmed.

The two, Mr Samuel Adom Botchway for Asikuma Odoben Brakwa and Mr Peter Light Koomson for the Ajumako Enyan Essiam were endorsed last Sunday and sworn in by His Worship C.K. Asomah a Magistrate.

Both assemblies on Friday, July 5, 2013 failed to confirm the nominees after voting ended with 27 voting yes for Mr Adom Botchway, while 17 voted against him. Also at Ajumako the same day, Mr Light Koomson had 41 votes whereas 21 voted against the nominee.

The second elections at both assemblies were on July 14  supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission in the persons of Mr Gabriel Dowuona-Hammond for Asikuma Odoben Brakwa and Mr Prosper Fiifi Caiquo, the Ajumako Enyan Essiam  District Electoral Officer.

Dignitaries who turned up for both elections were Mr Samuel Sarpong, Central Regional Minister, Mrs Queenstar Maame Pokuah Sawyerr, Member of Parliament for Agona East and Deputy Central Regional Minister, Mr Cassiel Ato Forson, MP for Ajumako Enyan Essiam Constituency and a deputy minister of Finance and Economic Planning, Lawyer Adu Yeboah, Regional NDC Chairman and other district chief executives.

At the end of voting at the Asikuma Odoben Brakwa District, out of the 45 members of the assembly, 38 voted in favour of the nominee, representing 84.44 per cent, while seven voted against him, representing 15.6 per cent.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

However, at Ajumako Enyan Essiam, Mr Light Koomson secured 45 votes and 23 voted against him out of the 68 members of the assembly present at the sitting.

By Gilbert Mawuli Agbey