Bernard Mornah loses PNC chairmanship; Apasera elected flagbearer

BY: Enoch Darfah Frimpong
Bernard Mornah loses PNC chairmanship
Bernard Mornah loses PNC chairmanship

Moses Dani Baah has dethroned Bernard Mornah as the National Chairman of the Peoples National Convention (PNC).

For the flagbearship slot of the PNC, David Apasera has beaten Rev Samuel Adjei-Debrah and Sampson Asaki Awingobit.

The PNC held its congress Wednesday [September 30, 2020] to elect its flag bearer for the 2020 presidential election and national executive officers to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

PHOTO: From left to right: Rev Samuel Adjei-Debrah, Sampson Asaki Awingobit and David Apasera

Related: PNC elects flag bearer, officers

Graphic Online's reporter, Joshua Koomson who covered the congress and was there when the results were collated Wednesday night reported that, for the flag bearer slot, David Apasera won overwhelmingly with 1315 votes as against Sampson Awingobit's 789 votes and Rev Samuel Adjei-Debrah's 465.

For the National Chairman slot, Bernard Mornah got 1266 votes as against Moses Dani Baah's 1297 votes.

Janet Asana Nabla emerged as the General Secretary for the PNC with 1312 votes as against that of Kobe McDonald's 230 votes and that of Emmanuel Wilson Jnr's 1041 votes.

For the Vice Chairman slot, Henry Haruna Asante won with 1729 votes against that of Omar Ahmed Bekure's 635, Eugene T.K. Bashiru's 375 and Hajia Hajara Musah Ali's 946 votes.

Abass Nuhu was elected as the National Organiser with 1124 votes.

His competitors Ntow Desmond Twumasi and Daniel Nii Noi got 773 and 639 votes respectively.

Hidaya Sungjun was elected as the Women's Organiser with 1249 votes as against that of Esther Osei Danso's 736 votes, Adam Johnson Patience Lamisi's 317 and Hummi Sinare's 236 votes.

Before the voting, Graphic Online's Joshua Koomson reported that Bernard Mornah urged the delegates to elect individuals with character and dignity.

Read also: Elect individuals with character, dignity- PNC chairman to delegates

Joshua Bediako Koomson reported that after the landslide victory against the other two contenders, Mr Apasera, an experienced politician, having represented the people of Bolgatanga Constituency in Parliament for three successive terms (2000, 2004, and 2008) in his victory address promised to bring back life into the PNC which, he said over the years has suffered some set backs.

“This is a great party, I joined in 1992 and I received invitations to join other parties but I made a choice for PNC because when I look at Dr Hilla Liman, who was overthrown for doing nothing wrong, I had to serve this party to honour his name,” he said.

“I am going to work hard to let Ghanaians know that PNC is a vehicle that can lead to the Jubilee House. We are hitting the ground at a fifth gear to be able to catch up with the others,” he added.

Manner of congress

In conformity with the COVID-19 preventive protocols, the congress, unlike previously, was held simultaneously in all the 16 regions of Ghana.

The PNC Headquarters in Accra served as the collation centre where the results from the various regions were collated and announced by the Electoral Commission (EC).

The PNC, which follows in the Nkrumah-Egala-Limann tradition, had originally planned to hold the national congress earlier in the Western Region in honour of Ghana’s first President, Dr Kwame Nkrumah, who is a native of the region.

The plan was rescinded due to the restrictions imposed on mass gatherings.

Congress guidelines

More than 4,000 delegates across the 16 regions were expected to participate in the exercise in their respective regions.

The election was from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., under the auspices of the EC.


Writer's email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.