Know the 16 regional capitals of Ghana

BY: Daily Graphic
Ghana Map
Ghana Map

Last Friday, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo concluded the constitutional mandate of creating six new regions, bringing the number to 16 in the country.

The six new regions were created out of the Volta, Brong Ahafo, Northern and Western regions. The Oti Region was carved out of the Volta Region, with Dambai as the capital. Bono East and Ahafo were created out of the Brong Ahafo Region with Techiman and Goaso as the respective capitals, while the former Brong Ahafo Region now becomes the Bono Region with Sunyani as the capital.

North East Region and Savannah Region were carved out of the Northern Region with Nalerigu and Damango as the new capitals respectively. Western North with Sefwi Wiawso as its capital was also created out of the Western Region.

Ghana Map

The 10 regional capitals before the creation of the new regions are still Sekondi (Western), Ho (Volta), Accra (Greater Accra), Koforidua (Eastern), Kumasi (Ashanti), Cape Coast (Central) , Sunyani (Bono), Tamale (Northern), Bolgatanga (Upper East) and Wa (Upper West).

The 16 regional capitals;

  • Oti Region - Dambai
  • Bono East Region - Techiman
  • Ahafo Region - Goaso
  • Bono Region - Sunyani
  • North East Region - Nalerigu
  • Savannah Region - Damango
  • Western North Region- Sefwi Wiawso
  • Western Region - Sekondi
  • Volta Region - Ho
  • Greater Accra Region - Accra
  • Eastern Region - Koforidua
  • Ashanti Region - Kumasi
  • Central Region - Cape Coast
  • Northern Region - Tamale
  • Upper East Region - Bolgatanga
  • Upper West Region - Wa