NDC’s Pokuah Sawyerr retains Agona East seat

BY: Gilbert Mawuli Agbey

The incumbent Member of Parliament(MP) for the Agona East Constituency, Mrs Queenstar Maame Pokuah Sawyerr has been re-elected as the MP for the area for a third term.

Mrs Sawyerr polled 23,247 votes to beat his closest contender, Professor Kwesi Yankah, the Minister of State in charge of Tertiary Education who contested on the ticket of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) and won 22,292 votes.

Other contenders, Appiah Kubi Shafiu of the Convention Peoples Party (CPP), Samuel Aryeequaye of the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) and Anthony Adjetey Adjei who contested as an independent candidate had 139, 204 and97 votes respectively.

The total valid votes were 46,742 as well as total votes cast were 47,434 whiles 692 votes were rejected.

Parliamentary outcome

  • Professor Kwesi Yankah- 22,292
  • Queenstar Maame Pokuah Sawyerr - 23,247
  • Appiah Kubi Shafiu - 139
  • Samuel Aryeequaye - 204
  • Anthony Adjetey Adjei - 97

PHOTO: The Agona East District Returning Officer, Mr David Kwesi Amos (middle) announcing the results.