MTN Heroes of Change 2018 goes on air

BY: Koume Koulibaly

The quest is on for the MTN Ghana Foundation to come up with a worthy winner in this year’s MTN Heroes of Change programme and television viewers now have the chance to assess the 10 finalists and their various projects.

The series went on air from March 9. The stations screening them are: Max TV at 7:00pm on Fridays; TV3 at 4: 00pm; Adom TV at 7:00pm and Homebase TV at 3:30pm on Saturdays and UTV at 3:30pm and GTV at 5:00pm on Sundays.

The MTN Heroes of Change programme recognises selfless people who sacrifice their time and resources to improve their communities in areas such as health, education and economic empowerment.

The final 10 nominees are Ayisha Fuseini, Dr. Quincy Attipoe, Emmanuel Aferi Annobil, Josephine Agbo-Nettey, Serwah Quaynor and Naomi Esi Arku Amoah.

The others are Dr. Dzifa Dey, Prince Oduro Williams, Rev. Mrs Sanatu Nantogma and Linat Osman Kundaribuo.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

The television series will highlight the stories of the nominees. An awards event will be organised at the end of the 13- week series during which the ultimate winner will be announced.

Selected winners for the categories of health, education and economic empowerment will be recognised with cash prize of GH₵30,000 each and a plaque.

The grand award of GH₵100,000 will be given to the ultimate winner. All the winners are expected to invest their prizes in their projects.

This year’s MTN Heroes of Change programme has seen the addition of a special category which will reward two personalities for their contribution to society through their social projects and charitable causes.

The special category is targeted at media and entertainment personalities. The winners in this category will each receive a special award to be invested in any charity project of their choice.

MTN Heroes of Change was first launched in July 2013 with the aim of identifying and recognizing selfless people who continue to sacrifice their time and resources to improve their communities and brighten lives. There have been three ultimate winners since the project was initiated.