The executives of the association
The executives of the association

Biogas association formed to promote technology

A new body, Biogas Association of Ghana (BAG), has been formed to promote the sustainable development of the biogas sector in Ghana.


Its objectives are to carry out, encourage and support research into the biogas technology and to ensure the development of quality standards by training actors in the industry based on modern approved practices.

The association was initiated by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the Ghana National Cleaner Production Centre (GNCPC) and the Energy Commission, at a meeting in Tema, to represent firms, institutions and individuals involved in biogas technology.

The President of BAG, Dr Elias Delali Aklaku, in an interview with the Ghana News Agency, said the Association was formed to influence policies aimed at improving sanitation, accessibility to energy, agriculture and the control of global warming.

He explained that biogas or anaerobic digestion technology provided sustainable solutions to most of the country’s sanitation, energy and agricultural challenges, hence the Association to transform the biogas industry by creating awareness of its benefits.

Capacity building

Dr Aklaku said the Association would build the capacity of practitioners and collaborate with the Ghana Standard Authority (GSA), EPA, Energy Commission and other institutions, in setting standards for the industry and also solicit investment in the sector.

The Executive Member of BAG,  Mrs Lovas Owusu-Takyi, thanked the GNCPC, EPA, the Energy Commission and the United Nations Environmental Programme for their support to the Association.

“We will also support the government and development partners in addressing climate change issues and achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) in Ghana,” he said.

Mr Daniel Digber of the GNCPC promised that they would work with the association to enable it to operate effectively as a strong advocacy institution for biogas development.

Other members of the Association elected at the meeting to manage the affairs of the association for the next two years, are Mr Moses Pumpuni, Mr Daniel Osei-Bonsu, Mr Joseph Bright Amenorfe, Enoch Kofi Boadu, Miss Selorm Etsa Seddoh, Miss Gloria Asantewaa, and Mr John Kofi Donkor. 

Connect With Us : 0242202447 | 0551484843 | 0266361755 | 059 199 7513 |

Like what you see?

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...