3 Remanded in connection with NPP activist's death in Asawasi

BY: Kwadwo Baffoe Donkor

Three out of the 7 who were arrested in connection with the murder of Saddiq Abubakar, the NPP activist, at Asawasi last Friday were yesterday remanded in custody by the Asokwa Magistrate court.

The remanded persons who have been charged with murder are Osman Issah and Alhassan Issah both remanded in prison custody and Hajia Wasila Gariba who was placed in police custody.

Their pleas were however not taken and they are expected to reappear on November 24 2015.

Mr. Kwame Owusu-Sekyere counsel for Osman and Hajia Gariba had pleaded with the court to admit his clients to bail while the police continued with their investigations.

He further pleaded with the court to consider particularly Hajia Gariba who he said was asthmatic and would need medical attention that was not available in the prison. However the prosecution led by Superintendent Mr. Emmanuel Ackonnor opposed the bail application arguing that murder was not a bailable offence.


According to the facts as presented by the prosecution all the three accused are functionaries of the NPP at Asawasi. On November 5 2015 they together with Issac Brenya, the Asawase Constituency Chairman of the NPP went to Accra to take part in a demonstration against the suspension of Mr Paul Afoko as national chairman of the NPP.

  The prosecution said the demonstrators returned to Kumasi only to find out that the party’s Asawasi Constituency office had been locked up by another faction. On November 6 2015, the accused together with Brenya broke into the office and that led toa misunderstanding between them and other factions.

The prosecution said as a result the accused pounced on the Abubakar, subjecting him to severe beating before stabbing him in the chest. It said the accused were later arrested by the police.

Other suspects

Meanwhile a source close to the prosecution told the Daily Graphic that the police were sill gathering evidence to arraign the other suspects. They are Issac Brenya, Bawa Mussah, Louis Mensah and Zakaria Seidu.