RTP fails to shine again

After receiving loads of bashing last year, one would have expected that Big Events, organisers of the Radio and Television Personality (RTP) awards would do their homework well to present a better event this year but that did not happen.


Just like previous editions of the awards, the event held at the Accra International Conference Centre last Saturday was characterised by a late start and many technical challenges. 

The event commenced at 9.30pm, almost three hours behind schedule and dragged on till the early hours of the following morning. Many members of the audience were visibly tired and left in droves before the show ended around 2.45 am.

At various times during the event, videos and audios files supposed to announce the nominees in their various categories failed to play. At other times, the files played were meant for different categories which resulted in some amount of confusion. There were also long stretches of time where the audience was left wondering what was happening behind the scenes because there was no activity on stage.  

The fact that some personalities and institutions who won awards on the night failed to turn up to receive their statuettes and didn’t bother sending representatives to do so on their behalf took a lot from the show.   

Celebrated radio personality, Kwami Sefa Kaye, was crowned the Radio Personality of the Year for the fourth consecutive time. He was not around to receive his award.

Kaye beat other notable personalities like Gifty Anti of GTV, Kwabena Yeboah of GTV, Bola Ray of Joy FM/Starr FM, Nana Aba Anamoah  of TV3 and Mother Diana (Tele Nurse) on Crystal TV.

Also, Kaye’s morning talk show, Kokrokoo,  won the award for Radio Programme of the Year for the fourth consecutive time. 

Viasat 1 emerged the winners in the most categories as they swept home six awards: TV Male Entertainment Show Host of the Year, TV Female Entertainment Show Host of the Year, TV Sports Programme of the Year, TV Reality Show of the Year, Local TV Series of the Year and TV Male Newscaster of the Year. 

The Female Presenter of the Year award went to Gifty Anti and the award for Best Female Radio Personality of the Year went to Jessica Opare Saforo of Citi FM.  

TV3’s Nana Aba Anamoah took home the award for TV Morning Show Host of the Year while Agyemang Prempeh of Rainbow Radio won the Radio Entertainment Show Host of the Year. Adom FM’s Adom Kasiebo Is Tasty won the Radio News Programme Of The Year. 

At the event, three personalities received citations and were inducted into the RTP Hall of Fame for their immense contribution to the development of the country through their work in radio and television industry. 

They were comedian and host of the KSM Show, Kwaku Sintim-Misa, actress, Grace Omaboe, and the late BBC Focus On Arica presenter, Komla Afeke Dumor, who was awarded posthumously. 

Artistes who performed on the night included Bisa Kdei, Akoo Nana, Obrafuor, Bradez, Supt. Kofi Sarpong, Gallaxy and comedian, Hogan.

Connect With Us : 0242202447 | 0551484843 | 0266361755 | 059 199 7513 |

Like what you see?

Hit the buttons below to follow us, you won't regret it...