Ghana announces final Black Queens squad for AWCON 2018

Coach Hayford announces final Black Queens squad for AWCON 2018
Coach Hayford announces final Black Queens squad for AWCON 2018

Coach Bashir Hayford has named Ghana’s final squad for the 2018 African Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON).

The Black Queens are aiming to win the title as hosts with the tournament set to be staged at the Accra stadium and the Cape Coast Stadium.

Useful links Ghana Politics | Ghana Celebrity News | News in Ghana

And coach Hayford has announced his squad for the competition which is scheduled to begin from November 17- December 1.

Philicity Asuako and Grace Asantewaa, who were in Ghana’s team for the 2018 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup have been handed call ups into the senior team’s squad for the upcoming tournament.

The team also includes experienced goalkeepers Patricia Mantey, Fafali Dumahisi and Nana Ama Asantewaa with Samira Suleman, Priscilla Okyere all names in the squad.

Ghana News Headlines

For today's latest Ghana news, visit Graphic Online headlines page Ghana news headlines.

Ghana will face Algeria in the Group A opener at the Accra stadium before taking on Mali and Cameroon in subsequent group matches.

Nigeria, South Africa, Equatorial Guinea and Zambia are in Group and will their games in Cape Coast.

The Black Queens will however play South Africa in their final preparatory match ahead of the competition.

For current Ghana news | Ghana Business News | News in Ghana

Below is the squad:

Final list:

1. Patricia Mantey

2. Fafali Dumahisi

3. Nana Ama Asantewaa

4. Linda Eshun

5. Janet Egyir

6. Cynthia Adobea

7. Ellen Coleman

8. Faustina Ampah

9. Philicity Asuako

10. Gladys Amfobea

11. Portia Boakye

12. Elizabeth Addo

13. Sherrifatu Sumaila

14. Grace Asantewaa

15. Priscilla Okyere

16. Samira Suleman

17. Juliet Acheampong

18. Lily Niber-Lawrence

19. Mary Essiful

20. Jane Ayieyam

21. Alice Kusi