Black Stars: Wakaso & Schlupp start against Sudan

BY: Kweku Zurek
Black Stars: Wakaso & Schlupp start against Sudan
Black Stars: Wakaso & Schlupp start against Sudan

Black Stars Head Coach C.K Akonnor has made five changes to his starting XI for this afternoon’s AFCON qualifier against Sudan away in Omdurman.

Crystal Palace's Jefferey Schlupp and Jiangsu Suning's Mubarak Wakaso who missed the home tie in Cape Coast will start in midfield against Sudan at 1 pm today.

Legon Cities goalkeeper Fatau Dauda will start in post for Ghana. He replaces Richard Ofori who is suspended for the game.

Amiens defender Christopher Opoku will play at right-back while Baba Abdul Rahman maintains his place at left-back.

In midfield, Mubarak Wakaso has been drafted in to start ahead of Emmanuel Lomotey. The Jiangsu Sunning player will partner Afriyie Acquah in the heart of the pitch.

In attack, Caleb Ekuban will play behind lead striker Jordan Ayew while Tarique Fosu and Jeffery Schlupp operate on the wings.

The Black Stars can seal qualification to AFCON 2021 with victory in today's game.

Full squad:

Starting XI: Fatau Dauda, Nicholas Opoku, Abdul Baba Rahman, Alexander Djiku, John Boye, Afriyie Acquah, Mubarak Wakaso, Jordan Ayew & Jefferey Schlupp.

Substitutes: Clifford Aboagye, Emmanuel Lomotey, Majeed Ashimeru, Ati Zigi Lawrence, Kwadwo Amoako, Joseph Aidoo, Samuel Owusu, Christopher Nettey & John Antwi.