Ghana Swimming Federation treasurer made CANA Executive member

BY: Beatrice Laryea

Miss Farida Ayishatu Iddrissu, Treasurer of the Ghana Swimming Federation (GSF) was last Sunday voted as an Executive member onto the Confederation of African Nations Amateur (CANA) Zone 2 Executive Board which consists of 22 West and Central African countries.

Miss Iddrissu got the position at an extra ordinary meeting held in Lagos, Nigeria during the second edition of the CANA Zone 2 Junior Swimming Championship and she will serve on the board for four years.

Aside from performing her duties as treasurer of the local aasociation, she is also a world swimming referee for the Federation International De Natation (FINA), an accolade she earned in 2015.

Meanwhile, the Ghana swim team won 27 medals consisting 12 gold, nine silver and six bronze at the which brought together participants from other nine African countries.

Miss Farida Iddrissu in a photograph with the swimmers after they received their medals

The three day event saw the Ghanaians finishing as the second best country after their Nigerian counterparts, who topped the table with 46 medals while Senegal won 13 medals to place third.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

While Kow Asafuah Jackson won three gold medals in the 50 metres freestyle, 100 metres breaststroke and 200 metres freestyle events, Papa Yaw Poku-Dwumoh also picked two gold medals after swimming in the 50 metres butterfly and 50 metres backstroke divisions.

In the girls events, Maayaa Ayawere grabbed three gold medals after participating in the 50 metres freestyle, 50 metres butterfly and 100 metres freestyle events respectively while Rebecca Korantemaa Asare won gold in the 100 metres backstroke and bronze in the 50 metres butterfly divisions.

The quartet of Ekow Gwira, Nii Kotey Armah, Papa Yaw Poku-Dwomoh and Kow Asafuah Jackson combined forces to win silver in the boys 100 metres freestyle relay on the first day while Maayaa Ayawere, Ryan DeGraft Ackun, Papa Yaw Poku-Dwomoh and Rebecca Gayathri won silver in the 4 by50 metres freestyle mixed relay.

Other countries who participated in the Lagos Championship wereNiger, Guinea, Benin, Togo, Sierra Leone and The Gambia.