NPP Northern Regional delegates' confab postponed to April 28, 2018

BY: Samuel Duodu
Alhaji Mohammed A. Baantima Samba and Mr Bugri Naabu
Alhaji Mohammed A. Baantima Samba and Mr Bugri Naabu

The Northern Regional Delegates’ conference of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) to elect new regional officers to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years is scheduled to come off on Saturday, April 28, 2018 at the Aliu Mahama Sports Stadium in Tamale.

The delegates’ conference was postponed from last Saturday, April 21, 2018 to Saturday, April 28, 2018 following the inability of some constituencies to elect new executives that would constitute the delegates for the elections.


 Elections could not take place in five constituencies in the Northern Region in February, this year, due to some unresolved problems and other issues which bordered on security.

The constituencies where elections could not take place were Yunyoo, Bimbila, Daboya/Manakarigu, Nalerigu/Gambaga and Karaga.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

However, there was no election in Tamale due to a referendum where about 182 delegates supported the current executive to continue their mandate while 82 delegates opposed it.

It was based on this development that the regional delegates’ conference was postponed to ensure that those constituencies where elections could not take place did so to ensure that the region had its full complement of delegates for the regional elections.

REGISTER: Graphic Business Stanbic Bank Breakfast Meeting

The elections took place in 26 out of 31 constituencies in the Northern Region which began on Saturday, February 24, 2018 across the country.

Two- horse race

Meanwhile, the race for the chairmanship position has been reduced to a two-horse race between the incubent, Mr Daniel Bugri Naabu, now Abdul-Fatawu Bugri Naabu and his closest contender, Alhaji Mohammed A. Baantima Samba, who has been tipped to unseat Mr Naabu.

Others in the chairmanship race are Ahaji Abdallah Hindu, Alhaji Musigu Sibawey and Amadu Inusah Dagomba.

Other contestants

Aside from the five personalities who have gone through the vetting process to enable them to contest for the chairmanship slot, there are 46 others who are going to battle for the remaining nine regional positions in the region.

The other positions are secretary, assistant secretary, first vice chairperson, second vice chairperson, treasurer, organiser, youth organiser, women’s organiser and Nasara coordinator.