Biakoye NDC passes vote of no confidence in chairman

BY: Samuel K. Obour

Kwabena Adjei, NDC National ChairmanThe Executive Committee of the National Democratic Congress in the Biakoye Constituency has passed a vote of no confidence in the constituency chairman, Mr Simon Tsumasi.

The decision was taken at a general meeting of the committee at Bowiri-Kwamekrom on July 12, 2013.

A resolution signed by members of the committee to enforce the decision accused Mr Tsumasi of failing to account to the constituents, monies given to him by the regional branch for the running of the party.

It said the constituency chairman also refused to give money meant for observers to the Kumasi congress of the party for the confirmation of President John Dramani Mahama as the presidential candidate for the 2012 general election.

This attitude, the resolution said, was verbally reported to the regional chairman of the party, but no action was taken.

It further accused the constituency chairman and the district chief executive of single handedly terminating the appointments of government appointees of the district assembly and re-appointing new members without consulting the member of Parliament (MP) and executives of the party.

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

The resolution said the DCE and the constituency chairman also made an appointment to the Volta Regional Lands Commission Board without consulting the MP and executives of the party.

It accused Mr Tsumasi of consistently refusing to implement the decisions of the executive committee and doing what pleased him.

It said the constituency chairman also ignored the decision of the committee put in place to oversee the elections of executives of the party at the branch level and flouted the guidelines put in place for the conduct of the elections.

This, according to the resolution, had led to the election of some New Patriotic Party (NPP) elements as executive committee members at certain branches.

The 28 signatories  to the resolution included Mr Cephas Akakpo, constituency vice chairman, Mr Harry A Adjorlolo, deputy secretary, Mr Emmanuel Agbeko, organiser, Ms Obaa-Yaa Amoah, women’s organiser, Mr Joseph Otoo, propaganda secretary and Mr Emmanuel Gyan, youth organiser.