Abirem NPP Constituency Women Organiser retains seat

Miss Ivy Grace Dokuah
Miss Ivy Grace Dokuah

The Abirem Constituency Women Organiser of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Miss Ivy Grace Dokuah, has retained her seat for the fourth consecutive term  following the constituency primaries which took place at New Abirem in the Birim North District of the Eastern Region.

Miss Dokuah beat her only challenger, Miss Esther Bonsu with 343 votes as against 123 ballots. The incumbent women organiser first won the seat in 2005.

Speaking to the Ghana News Agency (GNA) soon after the results had been announced by the District Electoral Commissioner, a highly elated Miss Dokuah thanked her loyalists for their continued support and confidence in her.

She said even though she had been working very hard for the party over the years and, therefore, ordinarily did not have to entertain any fears of losing her seat, she had to campaign vigorously.

Miss Dokuah pledged her readiness to continue working very hard with the rest of the newly elected executive members to ensure complete victory for the NPP in the 2020 presidential and parliamentary elections.

She gave an assurance that she would endeavour to build the capacity of women in the constituency to enhance their living standards by arranging for them to be trained in beads and soap making and at the same time facilitate soft loans for them to boost their trade.

Chairman loses seat

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

Relatedly, the incumbent chairman of the NPP in the Abirem Constituency, Mr Joseph Yaw Acheampong, lost his seat to Mr Patrick Baffour Bannor.

Mr Bannor obtained 304 votes as against 152 garnered by Mr Acheampong in the constituency primaries supervised by the Electoral Commission at New Abirem in the Eastern Region.

Nana Danso Abeam, the incumbent First Vice Chairman retained his seat by obtaining 204 ballots as against 173 by Mr Charles Aggrey. The position of Secretary went to Mr Evans Osei Yeboah,  who had 282 votes with Mr Frank Mireku,who one time occupied the position collecting 202 ballots.

Other constituency executive members elected were Mr Douglas Adomako, Assistant Secretary; Organiser, Nana Boadi Amponsah; Youth Organiser, Frank Ayim Owusu and Second Vice Chairman, Teye Larweh Joseph. The rest were Treasurer, Bennet Boateng and Yusif Hashmin, Nassara Co-ordinator.

In his victory speech, Mr Bannor thanked his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him and promised to work very hard to ensure an overwhelming victory for the NPP in both the presidential and parliamentary elections in 2020.

He renewed his campaign promise to ensure the construction of constituency offices for the party during his tenure in office.