31st December Revolution anniversary to be marked in Ho

BY: Graphic.com.gh
Rawlings at a recent anniversary of the 31st December Revolution
Rawlings at a recent anniversary of the 31st December Revolution

The Volta regional capital, Ho, will host a route march and a durbar of chiefs and people to mark the 36th anniversary of the 31st December Revolution.

There will also be a wreath-laying ceremony and the lighting of the perpetual flame at the ceremony which will be graced by the leader of the revolution, former President Flt. Lt. Jerry John Rawlings.

The theme for this year’s event is ‘’Uniting around the principles of probity, accountability and social justice”.

The commemoration is a sober and reflective moment which seeks to remind the Ghanaian populace of the principles that underpinned the popular revolution, according to a statement issued by Kobina Andoh Amoakwa of the Communications Directorate of the office of the former president.

It said the programme was revealed at the inaugural meeting of the Local Organizing Committee spearheaded by the Volta Regional MPs caucus Chairman, Hon. Emmanuel Kwasi Bedzrah and the Volta Regional Chairman of the National Democratic Congress, Hon John Kwadwo Gyapong.

Other members of the committee include the immediate past Regional Minister of the Volta Region, Hon Helen Ntosu; former Deputy Regional Minister Hon. Francis Ganyaglo; MP for Ho Central, Hon Benjamin Kpodo; Chairperson of the Volta Women’s Working Committee and former minister of state, Hon Dzifa Attivor; former MP for Ho Central Capt. George Nfodjo; and the former Regional Chairman of the Volta Regional NDC, Hon Kwasi Aboagye.

The committee which reflects the aspirations of all interest groups also includes the cadres of the revolution led by their Volta Regional Chairman, Comrade Frank Adoba.

Also represented were the Regional Youth and Women’s wings of the NDC, the Ho Central NDC, the Muslim community and the 31st December Women’s Movement.

The inaugural meeting was attended by members of the Central Planning Committee led by the Secretary of the National Interim Management Committee of the United Cadres Front.