155 MP Aspirants To Contest Northern Region Seats

BY: Enoch Darfah Frimpong

One hundred and fifty-five parliamentary aspirants, including seven women, have filed to contest the 2012 parliamentary election in the 31 constituencies in the Northern Region.

Eighteen aspirants out of the total 155 are standing as independent candidates in 14 out of the 31 constituencies.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the New Patriotic Party (NPP) each fielded 31 aspirants while the Progressive People’s Party (PPP) got 26 aspirants standing on its ticket. The People’s National Convention (PNC) fielded nine aspirants while the Convention People’s Party (CPP) had 16 aspirants.

Eighteen aspirants are contesting seats for the National Democratic Party (NDP) while three aspirants are contesting seats for the Democratic People’s Party (DPP). The United Front Party (UFP) and the Independent People’s Party (IPP) have an aspirant each contesting for them.  There is no aspirant for the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP). For the women aspirants, the PPP and DPP each fielded two candidates while the NDC, NPP and CPP all fielded one woman aspirant each.

The 31 constituencies include the six newly created constituencies, namely Daboya Mankarigu, Tatale-Sanguli, Sagnarigu, Yagaba Kubori, Nalerigu-Gambaga and Mion.

A Deputy Northern Regional Director of the Electoral Commission (EC), Mr Godwin Okley, told the Daily Graphic in Tamale that the exercise was smooth and added that “we did not hear of any challenges, neither did anyone complain to us about any problem.”

Story: Vincent Amenuveve