Tsunami hits NDC MPs

BY: Seth J. Bokpe
From left: Mr Mark Woyongo (MP for Navrongo Central), Mrs Sena Okiti-Dua (MP for Ledzokuku) and Mr Cletus Avoka (MP for Zebilla)

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has suffered what can best be described as political tsunami, losing more than 26 seats in provisional parliamentary results trickling in, while some of the party’s bigwigs have also tumbled in the race to Parliament.

The ruling party has suffered blows in the parliamentary race from its main opponents — the New Patriotic Party (NPP) — that leaves the NDC vanquished, bruised and left to lick its wounds as provisional results show.

NDC’s gain

But it has not been all gloom for the NDC, as it has snatched six seats — Zabzugu, Tatale-Sanguli and Chereponi — from the NPP and Kumbungu from the Convention People’s Party (CPP).

Ghana News Headlines

For latest news in Ghana, visit Graphic Online news headlines page Ghana news page

All four seats are in the Northern Region. 

Builsa South in Upper East, which used to be in the hands of the People’s National Convention (PNC), has also fallen to the NDC’s Dr Clement Apaak. 

The NDC also took the Fomena seat in the Ashanti Region.

Bigwigs fall

Twelve very important faces and voices in the party, including the MP for Madina-Abokobi, Alhaji Ahmadu Sorogho; the MP for Akwatia and Deputy Minister of Employment and Labour Relations, Mr Baba Jamal; the MP for Awutu Senya West and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ms Hanna Serwa Tetteh; the MP for La Dadekotopon, Nii Amasa Namoale, and the MP for Ledzokuku, Mrs Sena Okiti-Dua, have all been swept away by the tide of change, according to the provisional results. 

The casualties include both one-term and long-serving MPs whose electorate have turned their backs on them.

They include Mr Paul Evans Aidoo, the MP for Sefwi Wiawso and Western Regional Minister; Alhaji Amidu Sulemana, the MP for Sisala West, who also happens to be the Upper West Regional Minister; Mr Murtala Mohammed Ibrahim, the MP for Nanton and Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry; Mr Cletus Avoka, the MP for Zebilla and former Majority Leader; Mr Mark Woyongo, the MP for Navrongo Central; Alhaji Ibrahim Dey Abubakari, the MP for Salaga South and Ranking Member of the Public Accounts Committee; Sanja Nanja, the MP for Atebubu/Amantin, and Ms Hanna Bissiw, the MP for Tano South and Deputy Minister of Agriculture.

In what pundits describe as a political hurricane, the ruling party has lost more than 20 seats, including five in the Upper West Region, where the NPP previously had no single seat.

Places where the NDC fielded fresh candidates who defeated incumbent MPs in primaries but have lost the election include  Adentan, where Ahmed Ramadan lost to the NPP’s Yaw Buabeng Asamoah; Wa East, where Dr Henry Seidu Daannaa, the Minister of Chieftaincy and Culture, lost; Cape Coast North, where Mr Kobby Akyeampong, a former Deputy Minister of the Interior, lost to Barbara Asher Ayisi of the NPP.

Ms Hanna Bissiw - MP for Tano South and Alhaji Ahmadu Sorogho - MP for Madina-Abokobi

Some results

Other seats the NDC lost are Nandom, Ahafo Ano South, New Edubiase in Ashanti, Dorma West in Brong Ahafo, Hemang Lower Denkyira and Ekumfi in Central, Tempane in Upper East, Lawra and Sisala East in Upper West and Sefwi  Akontombra in Western.

In Akwatia in the Eastern Region, a beautician, Mercy Ama Sey, kicked Mr Jamal out of Parliament by garnering 21,433 votes, against 15,905 by Mr Jamal, who entered Parliament in 2012.

In Abokobi-Madina, Mr Sorogho, who has been in Parliament since 2005, lost to Mr Boniface Abubakar Saddique, who served as the Minister for Water Resources, Works and Housing in former President Kufuor's administration.

In Ledzokuku, the electorate lived up to their reputation of changing MPs every four years. Mrs Okiti-Duah lost to Dr Okoe Boye, who had 45,259 votes, against 43,092 by Mrs Okiti-Duah.

In Awutu Senya West, Mr Andah pulled the stitches out of the third-term bid of Ms Tetteh, who polled 25,654 votes, against 28,867 by Andah.

The vociferous MP for Nanton, Mohammed Ibrahim, will not return to Parliament, as certified results show that the NPP’s parliamentary candidate, Alhaji Hardi Tuferu, pipped him with 11,346 votes, as against 10,451 for the deputy minister.